Ten Things I Love About You

By Daniel Kirk; Daniel Kirk (Illustrator)
(Nancy Paulsen Books, Hardcover, 9780399252884, 32pp.)

Publication Date: December 27, 2012

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

Fans of Mo Willems' Elephant and Piggie will enjoy Rabbit and Pig’s clever back-and-forth which shows the funny ways friends bounce ideas and feelings off each other.

Rabbit just adores his friend Pig. So he is excited to make a list of all the things he loves about Pig. And who better to help him write the list than Pig himself? But Pig is busy, and keeps sending Rabbit away. But no matter what Pig does, Rabbit is inspired to add another thing to his list. When Pig says, “Rabbit, I'm starting to lose my patience!” Rabbit has #6—“I love Pig because he’s not afraid to show his feelings!” Fortunately, Pig’s dwindling patience is rewarded when Rabbit completes his list—and the two realize exactly why they are such good pals.




About the Author

Daniel Kirk (www.danielkirk.com) has written and illustrated numerous popular picture books, including Keisha Ann Can and Library Mouse. He lives in Glen Ridge, New Jersey. 




Praise For Ten Things I Love About You

* “Rabbit and Pig join the ranks of duos that grapple with the intricacies of friendship—and impressively stand out. . . . Kirk gets the comic timing just right. . . . Although great for reading aloud, put this at the top of the list for using as a springboard for creative writing or a discussion starter about what qualities make a good friend.”
-Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“A charmingly illustrated book about self-expression, sharing, cooperation, gratitude—what’s not to love?”
-The New York Times Book Review

“The devoted Rabbit’s clueless annoying of his friend is deadpan funny. . . . The textured look of the painted wood panels has visual appeal. . . . May inspire kids to take a keener look at the charms of their own buddies. . . . A useful starting point for a classroom or family project of listing a friend’s or family member’s good points.”
-The Bulletin of the Center for Children´┐Żs Books

“A sweet book about friendship and having a positive outlook. . . . The positive twists are refreshing–there are two ways to interpret Pig’s impatience, and Rabbit unfailingly looks on the bright side. . . . Kirk’s illustrations perfectly capture Rabbit’s always cheerful nature and Pig’s growing irritation. . . . Ideal for group sharing. . . . Provides a framework for looking for admirable traits in classmates and feeling acknowledged by others and would be a good choice to prompt discussions, suggesting that students find positive things to say about one another.”
-School Library Journal

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

We Were Liars
E. Lockhart
Delacorte Press
Americanah
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Anchor
The Bees
Laline Paull
Ecco Press
All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile