Proxy

By Alex London
Philomel Books, Hardcover, 9780399257766, 379pp.

Publication Date: June 18, 2013

List Price: $17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.




Description
The adventure novel of the year Inspired by "The Whipping Boy "and "Feed," this adrenaline-fueled thriller will appeal to fans of"TheHunger Games"and "Divergent."
Knox was born into one of the City'swealthiest families. A Patron, he has everything a boy could possibly want the latest tech, the coolest clothes, and a Proxy to take all his punishments. When Knox breaks a vase, Syd is beaten.When Knox plays a practical joke, Syd isforced tohaul rocks. And when Knox crashes a car, killing one of his friends, Syd is branded and sentenced to death.
Syd is a Proxy. His life is not his own.
Then again, neither is Knox's. Knox and Syd have more in common than either would guess. So when Knox and Syd realize that the only way to beat the system is to save each other, they flee. Yet Knox's father is no ordinary Patron, and Syd is no ordinary Proxy. The ensuing cross-country chase will uncover a secret society of rebels, test both boys resolve, and shine a blinding light onto a world of those who owe and those who pay. Some debts, it turns out, cannot be repaid.
A fast-paced, thrill-ride of novel full of non-stop action, heart-hammering suspense and true friendship just as moving as it is exhilarating. Fans of Anthony Horowitz's Alex Rider series, James Dashner's "Maze Runner," Patrick Ness's Chaos Walking series, and Marie Lu's Legend trilogy will be swept away by this story.
Praise for"PROXY"
Looking for an awesome YA summer read? Look no further than Alex London s"Proxy." EntertainmentWeekly.com
"Put down what you're doing and read this book. Right now. The complex characters, intricate world, and blistering pace are off-the-charts amazing. I fell in love with this story from the first sentence to the final, epic page. London is a force to be reckoned with." Marie Lu, author of the Legend trilogy
A] smart, stylish science-fiction thriller that deftly weaves big issues like guilt, accidents of birth, redemption and commerce into a page-turning read. "Kirkus Reviews"
A fast-paced dystopian novel which should appeal to readers of the"Hunger Games." "VOYA"
"Alex London is one of the most multi-dimensional writers out there."Proxy"blew me away. It's deep, thrilling, thought-provoking, and at times simultaneously maddening and uplifting. I need to have more of Syd and Knox."Proxy"is one stunning read " Andrew Smith, author of "Winger "and "Grasshopper Jungle"
Gripping. Examiner.com
"Proxy"moves blindingly fast through a world of danger gone viral. It's science-fiction on a joy ride full of deceit and imagination. "DeseretNews"
A big twist and heroic ending will leave readers eager for more "Shelf Awareness"
Offering intriguing moral dilemmas amid breakneck action The matter-of-fact presence of a gay lead Syd] in an action driven story is welcome and overdue. "Publishers Weekly"
An action-packed thrill ride. "School Library Journal.



Praise For Proxy

Praise for Proxy:

"Put down what you're doing and read this book. Right now. The complex characters, intricate world, and blistering pace are off-the-charts amazing. I fell in love with this story from the first sentence to the final, epic page. London is a force to be reckoned with." —Marie Lu, author of the Legend trilogy

"Not only is Proxy an edge-of-your-seat literary thrill ride, it's an important and groundbreaking novel as well. Knox and Syd redefine the concept of loyalty and friendship. London has crafted a true tour de force."  —Matt de la Peña, author of Mexican White Boy

“[A] smart, stylish science-fiction thriller that deftly weaves big issues like guilt, accidents of birth, redemption and commerce into a page-turning read.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
Proxy moves blindingly fast through a world of danger gone viral. It's science-fiction on a joy ride full of deceit and imagination.” —Deseret News
 
"Proxy is a fast-paced dystopian novel which should appeal to readers of the Hunger Games.” VOYA

“[S]tudents weaned on [Suzanne] Collins’ and [Lauren] Oliver’s work will love this book.” —City Paper

"Alex London is one of the most multi-dimensional writers out there. Proxy blew me away. It's deep, thrilling, thought-provoking, and at times simultaneously maddening and uplifting. I need to have more of Syd and Knox. Proxy is one stunning read!" —Andrew Smith, author of WINGER and GRASSHOPPER JUNGLE
 

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound