Silent Enemy

By Tom Young
(Berkley Books, Mass Market Paperbound, 9780425250280, 392pp.)

Publication Date: June 5, 2012

List Price: $9.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description
A novel of courage and terror from the author of Sand and Fire and The Warriors...
Estimated time of arrival: Never...
When a terrorist bombing strikes a police training center in Kabul, Afghanistan, many are killed. The wounded, including Sergeant Major Sophia Gold, are loaded onto a C-5 Galaxy bound for Germany. But after takeoff, aircraft commander Michael Parson receives a message: the jihadists have placed bombs on planes leaving Afghanistan--and his is one of them. They are trapped in the air. And if they descend, they will die.As the air-craft deteriorates and the patients grow worse, Parson, Gold, and the crew are pushed to the breaking point--and their biggest challenge has yet to show itself.
For the enemy is already closer than any of them can dare to imagine...
"Fans of Clancy, Coonts, and Dale Brown need to add Young to their must-read lists." (Booklist)



About the Author
At the time of his retirement as a senior master sergeant in 2013, Tom Young had logged nearly five thousand hours as a flight engineer for the Air National Guard in Afghanistan, Iraq, Kosovo, Bosnia, and elsewhere. His military honors include three Air Medals, three Aerial Achievement Medals, and the Air Force Combat Action Medal. He retired from the Air National Guard in 2013. He holds degrees from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and studied writing there and at the Sewanee Writers' Conference, among other places. He is also the author of the oral history The Speed of Heat: An Airlift Wing at War in Iraq and Afghanistan, and contributed to the anthology Operation Homecoming, edited by Andrew Carroll. Young lives in Alexandria, Virginia.
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile