Recipe for Disaster

Recipe for Disaster Cover

Recipe for Disaster

By Stacey Ballis

Berkley Books, Paperback, 9780425265505, 480pp.

Publication Date: March 3, 2015

Description

Stacey Ballis cooks up a delicious broth of a novel about a woman whose perfect life falls apart in spectacular fashion--leaving her with a house to restore, an antique cookbook (but no cooking talent), and one very unhappy schnauzer. For fans of Jen Lancaster, Jennifer Weiner, and Emily Giffin.
To an outside observer, Anneke Stroudt is a mess her shirts are stained, her fingernails stubby, her language colorful. But, despite her flaws, Anneke's life is close to perfect. She has a beautiful historic house to restore and a loving fiance who cooks like a dream.
Until Anneke's charmed existence falls apart when she loses both her job and her future husband in one terrible day. In need of a new start, she packs up her disgruntled schnauzer and moves into her half-finished home, where she throws her pent-up frustration and what little savings she has into finishing the renovation.
But at the first step into the house's overhaul, Anneke is sidetracked when she discovers a mysterious leather-bound book, long hidden away, filled with tempting recipes and steamy secrets from Gemma Ditmore-Smythe, the cook for the house's original owners. Slowly, with the help of some delicious food and Emma's life lessons, Anneke begins to realize that, just like a flawless recipe, she's been waiting for the right ingredients to cook up a perfect life all along
With the perfect blend of humor and heart, Ballis's writing is powerfully honest and genuinely hilarious. --Jen Lancaster
INCLUDES RECIPES



About the Author
Stacey Ballis is the author of eight foodie novels: "Inappropriate Men," " Sleeping Over," " Room for Improvement," " The Spinster Sisters," " Good Enough to Eat," " Off the Menu," "Out to Lunch," and "Recipe for Disaster." She is alsoa contributing author to three nonfiction anthologies: "Girls Who Like Boys Who Like Boys," "Everything I Needed to Know About Being a Girl I Learned from Judy Blume," and "Living Jewishly.""

Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.