The Weekend Was Murder

The Weekend Was Murder Cover

The Weekend Was Murder

By Joan Lowery Nixon

Laurel Leaf Library, Mass Market Paperbound, 9780440219019, 208pp.

Publication Date: February 1, 1994

Description
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes "The Weekend was Murder " from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
Mary Elizabeth can t wait for the weekend to begin at the Ridley Hotel, where a famous mystery writer and a troupe of actors are coming to enact a murder mystery for 150 amateur sleuths. Mary Elizabeth's role is to discover the body in Room 1927, which is supposed to be haunted. But nothing prepares her for the "real" body she finds in Room 1927
A masterfully constructed, engaging read that is] ingeniously plotted, fast-paced and lighthearted. "Publishers Weekly"
Fans will love wading through the myriad details and placing bets on the outcome. "Kirkus Reviews"
Mystery fans will enjoy trying to solve the various crimes. "School Library Journal"

"From the Trade Paperback edition.



About the Author
Joan Lowery Nixon was the author of more than 130 books for young readers and was the only four-time winner of the Edgar Allan Poe Best Young Adult Mystery Award. She received the award for"The Kidnapping of Christina Lattimore," "The Seance," "The Name of the Game Was Murder," and"The Other Side of the Dark," which also won the California Young Reader Medal. Her historical fiction included the award-winning series The Orphan Train Adventures, Orphan Train Children, and Colonial Williamsburg: Young Americans. "From the Hardcover edition.""


Praise For The Weekend Was Murder

"A masterfully constructed, engaging read that will delight mystery fans... Ingeniously plotted, fast-paced, and lighthearted."--Publishers Weekly

"Nixon's many fans will enjoy wading through the myraid details and placing bets on the outcome."--Kirkus Reviews

"[A] something-for-everyone story."--School Library Journal