The Haunting

The Haunting Cover

The Haunting

By Joan Lowery Nixon

Laurel Leaf Library, Mass Market Paperbound, 9780440220084, 192pp.

Publication Date: September 12, 2000

Description
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes "The Haunting" from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
The walls whisper. The ceilings shriek. No one can survive a night of terror inside Graymoss. The old plantation house has been in Lia's family since the Civil War, but it's been possessed for generations by a malicious spirit, and Lia's family has always stayed far away.
Now her parents have decided to move into Graymoss, and Lia must either change their minds or chase away the horror lurking inside the old house. Using clues from her great-great-grandmother's diary and an old copy of "Favorite Tales of Edgar Allan Poe," Lia must discover what or who the evil wants.
Nixon creates a spooky setting fairly dripping in atmosphere, then spins an ever-tightening thread of tension. "Kirkus Reviews"
A book that will please mystery fans and a] plot that] keeps readers guessing until the end. "School Library Journal"
Nixon has woven a tale that grabs and holds her readers It's a really fun read "VOYA"
A page-turner that will satisfy mystery and ghost story fans. "Booklist.


About the Author
Joan Lowery Nixon was the author of more than 130 books for young readers and was the only four-time winner of the Edgar Allan Poe Best Young Adult Mystery Award. She received the award for"The Kidnapping of Christina Lattimore," "The Seance," "The Name of the Game Was Murder," and"The Other Side of the Dark," which also won the California Young Reader Medal. Her historical fiction included the award-winning series The Orphan Train Adventures, Orphan Train Children, and Colonial Williamsburg: Young Americans."


Praise For The Haunting

"The plot keeps readers guessing until the end."--School Library Journal

"Typical of Nixon's popular gothics, this title has it all."--The Horn Book Magazine

"Nixon creates a spooky setting fairly dripping with atmosphere, then spins an ever-tightening thread of tension."--Kirkus Reviews