Nightmare

By Joan Lowery Nixon
Yearling Books, Paperback, 9780440237730, 176pp.

Publication Date: August 9, 2005

List Price: $6.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.




Description

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes "Nightmare" from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
Emily has never fit in with her overachieving family. Instead of getting straight As, she sits in the back row and hides behind her hair. As a result, her parents have enrolled her for the summer at Camp Excel, an academic camp for underachievers. Emily doesn t want to go, and not just because she thinks it isn t necessary. Since she was a child, she's been plagued by a recurring nightmare. And something about this camp feels familiar. Has she been there before? Why can t she remember?
With the help of two new friends, Emily discovers that her nightmare is not just in her head. Someone at Camp Excel has a secret and will do anything even kill to keep Emily from uncovering the truth.
A taut, well-constructed mystery. "Kirkus Reviews"
Readers will once again fall under Nixon's spell as they enjoy this page-turner. "School Library Journal"
An] inimitable blend of horror and whodunit. "Booklist"
"Nightmare "has] taut suspenseful passages and] clever false leads. "Publishers Weekly.




About the Author
Joan Lowery Nixon (1927-2003) was a renowned author of children's literature, best known for series like the Orphan Train Adventures and Casebusters. Born in Los Angeles, she began dictating poems to her mother before she could read. At the University of Southern California, Nixon majored in journalism, but took a job teaching the first grade upon graduating. In 1949, she and her husband moved to Corpus Christi, Texas, and in 1964 she published her first novel, "The Mystery of Hurricane Castle." Nixon became a fan of mystery fiction when she was a child, and many of her most popular series incorporate elements of sleuthing. She won four Edgar Awards for best young adult mysteries, including prizes for her novels "The Kidnapping of Christina Lattimore" (1979) and "The Name of the Game Was Murder "(1993). In addition to writing more than 140 young adult novels, Nixon also co-wrote several geology texts with her scientist husband.
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound