Search for the Shadowman

Search for the Shadowman Cover

Search for the Shadowman

By Joan Lowery Nixon

Yearling Books, Paperback, 9780440411284, 149pp.

Publication Date: April 3, 1998

Description
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes "Search for the Shadowman" from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
Twelve-year-old Andy Thomas isn t thrilled with his teacher's assignment to explore family history. But when he starts asking questions about his ancestors, he is surprised to discover a black sheep named Coley Joe Bonner. No one wants to discuss what happened in the family's past. Everyone, including Andy's own relatives, advises him to stop his investigation. But Andy continues and searches everywhere, from the Internet to the local cemetery, to discover the truth. Will Andy's search hurt those he loves or make them realize that it's never too late to seek social justice?
A riveting tale of suspense set against a background of fascinating historical context. "School Library Journal"
Hints of disgrace and treachery children will read the story for the fun of guessing who is warning Andy off the case. "Booklist.


About the Author
Joan Lowery Nixon was the author of more than 130 books for young readers and was the only four-time winner of the Edgar Allan Poe Best Young Adult Mystery Award. She received the award for"The Kidnapping of Christina Lattimore," "The Seance," "The Name of the Game Was Murder," and"The Other Side of the Dark," which also won the California Young Reader Medal. Her historical fiction included the award-winning series The Orphan Train Adventures, Orphan Train Children, and Colonial Williamsburg: Young Americans. "From the Hardcover edition.""