Hard Country

By Michael McGarrity
(NAL Trade, Paperback, 9780451417145, 640pp.)

Publication Date: May 28, 2013

Other Editions of This Title: Hardcover

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

A richly authentic epic adventure of rough-hewn men and courageous women, set in the hard country of the American Southwest frontier.

Hard Country is a rare and extraordinary story of one family’s struggle to settle and endure in the vast, untamed territory of New Mexico.

In the wake of the death of his wife as she gives birth to his son, and the killing of his brother on the West Texas plains, John Kerney is forced to give up his ranch, leave his son behind, and strike out in search of the murderous outlaws and a place where he can start over. He drifts south until he meets a man who offers him work trailing cattle to the New Mexico Territory and forever changes his life.

Spanning the years of 1875 to 1918, Hard Country is the Western reinvented and enlarged into a saga that above all celebrates the people and the land of the great Southwest.




About the Author

Michael McGarrity is the author of the Anthony Award-Nominated Tularosa and twelve additional bestselling novels including Mexican Hat, Serpent Gate, Hermit’s Peak, The Judas Judge, Under the Color of Law, Nothing But Trouble, and Death Song. A former Santa Fe County deputy sheriff, he served as an instructor at the New Mexico Law Enforcement Academy and as an investigator for the New Mexico Public Defender’s Office before turning to writing full-time. In 2004, he received the New Mexico Governor’s Award for Excellence in the Arts – Literature. 




Praise For Hard Country

“A ‘Western’ in the sense that Lonesome Dove was a Western. It transcends the genre, a great and true American novel.”—Douglas Preston, Coauthor of Gideon’s Corpse

“A compelling and richly imagined epic.” —Margaret Coel, Author of Buffalo Bill’s Dead Now

“An expansive, lyrical period Western in the tradition of A. B. Guthrie, Jr. and Larry McMurtry. Savor this one—they don’t make cowboy epics like this anymore.” —Hampton Sides, Bestselling Author of Hellhound on His Trail

Hard Country is aptly titled, and the reader will take a spectacular journey with real people settling the West. There is inescapable action of the gun, the earth, the sky, and the heart.”—Max Evans, Author of The One Eyed Sky

“McGarrity is an accomplished storyteller, and he writes with clarity, perception, and authenticity.” —N. Scott Momaday, Pulitzer Prize–winning Author of House Made of Dawn

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company
Landline
Rainbow Rowell
St. Martin's Press
New and Selected Poems
David Lehman
Scribner
Still Some Cake
James Cummins
Carnegie-Mellon University Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile