Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

The Famous and the Dead

The Famous and the Dead Cover

The Famous and the Dead

By T. Jefferson Parker

New American Library, Paperback, 9780451468215, 371pp.

Publication Date: July 1, 2014

Description
For fans of Michael Connelly and CJ Box, from New York Times bestseller and Edgar-award winner T. Jefferson Parker, author of The Room of White Fire, comes the explosive finale in his Charlie Hood series, which will bring together the destinies of three men caught between light and darkness....
Los Angeles County sheriff's deputy Charlie Hood is attached to the ATF, working undercover on the illegal arms trade that flows across the U.S.-Mexico border. The sparkle of the diamond fillings he wears in his left canine distracts his task force targets and is often the first step toward a long stay behind bars.
Meanwhile, Bradley Jones sheriff's deputy, employee of the Baja Cartel, and son of the love of Charlie's life is expecting a son of his own. Bradley, supposedly descended from the famed Mexican outlaw Joaquin Murrieta, has reaped the rewards of his treachery, keeping a hoard of cash and jewelry in a secret lair on his property.
Charlie knows Bradley's secrets, all of them; the question is what he ll do with the information. But he still has to contend with the devilish Mike Finnegan, who flits in and out of the lives of his friends, knows things he should not know, is seemingly immortal, and delights in the havoc he wreaks in the orbits of everyone he touches....
All three are about to meet. But all will not survive....


About the Author
T. Jefferson Parkeris the author of numerous novels and short stories, the winner of three Edgar Awards, and the recipient of aLos Angeles TimesBook Prize for mysteries. Before becoming a full-time novelist, he was an award-winning reporter. He lives in Fallbrook, California."


Praise For The Famous and the Dead

“T. Jefferson Parker has burgled the crumbling palace of Edgar Allan Poe for inspiration in The Famous and the Dead.”—The Wall Street Journal

“Parker, the winner of three Edgar awards for crime fiction, again delivers a tale that is not only well plotted and suspenseful, but subtle, surprising and endearingly perverse.”—The Washington Post

“Parker has always chaffed at the boundaries of the crime fiction genre, creating wildly inventive characters and surprising storylines. His risk-taking alone makes all of his work, including the Charlie Hood series, well worth reading.”—The Associated Press

“Parker’s sparse, melodic prose is as simple as it is haunting. His writing is a wonder to behold…a riveting read.”—Providence Journal