Sense and Sensibility

Sense and Sensibility Cover

Sense and Sensibility

By Jane Austen; Margaret Drabble (Introduction by); Mary Balogh (Afterword by)

Signet Classics, Mass Market Paperbound, 9780451531018, 328pp.

Publication Date: July 1, 2008

Two sisters of opposing temperaments who share the pangs of tragic love provide the theme for Jane Austen's dramatically human narrative.
Elinor, practical and conventional, is the perfection of sense. Marianne, emotional and sentimental, is the embodiment of sensibility. To each comes the sorrow of unhappy love.
Their mutual suffering brings a closer understanding between the two sisters and true love finally triumphs when sense gives way to sensibility and sensibility gives way to sense. Jane Austen's authentic representation of early-nineteenth-century middle-class provincial life, written with forceful insight and gentle irony, makes her novels the enduring works on the mores and manners of her time.
With an Introduction by Margaret Drabble
and an Afterword by Mary Balogh

About the Author
Jane Austen(1775-1817) was born in Hampshire, England, to George Austen, a rector, and his wife, Cassandra. Like many girls of her day, she was educated at home, where she began her literary career by writing parodies and skits for the amusement of her large family. Although Austen did not marry, she did have several suitors and once accepted a marriage proposal, but only for an evening. Although Austen never lived apart from her family, her work shows a worldly and wise sensibility. Her novels includeSense and Sensibility(1811), Pride and Prejudice(1813), Mansfield Park(1814), Emma(1815), andNorthanger AbbeyandPersuasion, published together posthumously in 1818. Margaret Drabbleis the highly acclaimed novelist, biographer, and editor ofThe Oxford Companion to English Literature. Her novels includeThe Gates of Ivory, The Seven Sisters, andThe Red Queen. Mary Balogh grew up in Wales and after graduating from University moved to Saskatchewan, Canada, to teach high school English. Her first Regency historical love story, A Masked Deception, was published in 1985. She has written more than seventy novels since then, including the New York Times bestselling Slightly sestet and Simply quartet."