Hypochondria Can Kill

A Disease for Every Occasion, an Illness for Every Symptom

By John Naish
(Plume, Paperback, 9780452286887, 224pp.)

Publication Date: October 25, 2005

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

A witty, highly entertaining compendium of the many obscure potential killers that lurk in modern society.  From telephone stroke (holding the receiver too tightly to one’s head) to the most common housework-related fatalities among men, health journalist John Naish culls the most intriguing, odd, and completely true medical findings and bizarre syndromes.
 
Fans of The Worst Case Scenario books and Schott’s Original Miscellany will revel in this latest addition to the reference shelf. But don’t let it make you fret too much—research shows that worrying about your health quadruples your chances of an early death.




About the Author

John Naish is a health journalist for The Times (London).  He is a t’ai chi–practicing vegetarian who loves rock and rides fast motorcycles.

Indie Bookstore Finder











Update Profile