Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

The Keeper of Lost Causes

The Keeper of Lost Causes Cover

The Keeper of Lost Causes

A Department Q Novel

By Jussi Adler-Olsen

Plume Books, Paperback, 9780452297906, 407pp.

Publication Date: July 31, 2012

Advertisement
Description
The first book in New York Times bestsellerJussi Adler-Olsen's electrifying Department Q series.
The #1 international bestseller from Jussi Adler-Olsen, author of The Absent One perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Carl Morck used to be one of Copenhagen's best homicide detectives. Then a hail of bullets destroyed the lives of two fellow cops, and Carl who didn t draw his weapon blames himself. So a promotion is the last thing he expects. But Department Q is a department of one, and Carl's got only a stack of Copenhagen's coldest cases for company. His colleagues snicker, but Carl may have the last laugh, because one file keeps nagging at him: a liberal politician vanished five years earlier and is presumed dead. But she isn t dead yet.
Darkly humorous, propulsive, and atmospheric, The Keeper of Lost Causes introduces American readers to the mega-bestselling series fast becoming an international sensation.


About the Author
Jussi Adler-Olsen is Denmark's #1 crime writer and a New York Times bestselling author. His books, including the Department Q series, routinely top the bestseller lists in Europe and have sold more than fifteen million copies around the world. His many prestigious Nordic crime-writing awards include the Glass Key Award, also won by Henning Mankell, Jo Nesbo, Stieg Larsson, and Peter Hoeg.


Praise For The Keeper of Lost Causes

“Plan on putting everything else in your life on hold if you pick up this book.”
--The Oregonian


“The pages fly by as the twisty puzzle unfolds. Stieg Larsson fans will be delighted.”
--Publishers Weekly (starred review)


“Far from being just another morose Nordic crime writer, Adler-Olsen creates a detective whose curiosity is as active as his soul is tortured.”
--Library Journal (starred review)


“Adler-Olsen's prose is superior to Larsson's, his tortures are less discomfiting, and he has a sense of humor.”
--Booklist (starred review)


“The new ‘it' boy of Nordic Noir.”
--The Times (London)


The Keeper of Lost Causes is dark, atmospheric, and compelling. Those who loved The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo will devour this book.”
--C. J. Box, New York Times bestselling author of Cold Wind

Advertisement