The Keeper of Lost Causes

The First Department Q Novel

By Jussi Adler-Olsen
(Plume, Paperback, 9780452297906, 416pp.)

Publication Date: July 31, 2012

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

The first book in New York Times bestsellerJussi Adler-Olsen's electrifying Department Q series.

The #1 international bestseller from Jussi Adler-Olsen, author of The Absent One—perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo 

Carl Mørck used to be one of Copenhagen’s best homicide detectives. Then a hail of bullets destroyed the lives of two fellow cops, and Carl—who didn’t draw his weapon—blames himself. So a promotion is the last thing he expects. But Department Q is a department of one, and Carl’s got only a stack of Copenhagen’s coldest cases for company. His colleagues snicker, but Carl may have the last laugh, because one file keeps nagging at him: a liberal politician vanished five years earlier and is presumed dead. But she isn’t dead … yet.

Darkly humorous, propulsive, and atmospheric, The Keeper of Lost Causes introduces American readers to the mega-bestselling series fast becoming an international sensation.




About the Author

Jussi Adler-Olsen lives in Denmark.




Praise For The Keeper of Lost Causes

“Plan on putting everything else in your life on hold if you pick up this book.”
--The Oregonian


“The pages fly by as the twisty puzzle unfolds. Stieg Larsson fans will be delighted.”
--Publishers Weekly (starred review)


“Far from being just another morose Nordic crime writer, Adler-Olsen creates a detective whose curiosity is as active as his soul is tortured.”
--Library Journal (starred review)


“Adler-Olsen's prose is superior to Larsson's, his tortures are less discomfiting, and he has a sense of humor.”
--Booklist (starred review)


“The new ‘it' boy of Nordic Noir.”
--The Times (London)


The Keeper of Lost Causes is dark, atmospheric, and compelling. Those who loved The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo will devour this book.”
--C. J. Box, New York Times bestselling author of Cold Wind

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

Confessions of a Self-Help Writer
Benjamin Dehaven
Lagniappe Publishing
Annihilation
Jeff VanderMeer
FSG Originals
The Martian
Andy Weir
Crown
Benediction
Kent Haruf
Vintage

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile