Innocents Lost

When Child Soldiers Go To War

By Jimmie Briggs
(Basic Books, Hardcover, 9780465007981, 216pp.)

Publication Date: July 1, 2005

List Price: $24.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

For readers of Philip Gourevitch, David Rieff, and Samantha Power, a sober, vitally important book on the global tragedy of child soldiers




About the Author

From covering violence in minority communities to investigating rights abuses, the personal stories of disadvantaged youth have been the focus of Jimmie Briggs' decade-long career. Over the last four years he has focused on child soldiers. As a reporter at LIFE, Briggs was awarded the John Bartlow Martin Award from Northwestern University for a story on the Gulf War's impact on children and became a finalist for the National Magazine Award. In the summer of 1998, he earned an honorable mention in the Dorothea Lange-Paul Taylor Prize competition, and an Individual Project Fellowship from the Open Society Institute to study war-affected children. A year later, Briggs received a commendation from the Congressional Black Caucus for his coverage of AIDS in the black community. He has written for The Washington Post, The Village Voice, EMERGE, VIBE, George, The Source, Junior Scholastic, XXL, The New York Times Magazine and LIFE. He lives in New York City.

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile