Shout Her Lovely Name

By Natalie Serber
(Mariner Books, Paperback, 9780544002210, 240pp.)

Publication Date: June 11, 2013

Other Editions of This Title: Hardcover

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the July 2012 Indie Next List
“From the first page, this extraordinary collection of short stories grabbed me by the throat and would not let go. Each one is filled with poignant, thought-provoking observations on the tenuous, yet unbreakable, bond between mothers and daughter. Serber has given readers a remarkable, heartfelt book to be savored, shared, and passed on from one generation to another.”
-- Anderson McKean, Page & Palette, Fairhope, AL


Description

A collection of stories about the complicated and powerful ties between mothers and daughters.




About the Author

Natalie Serber received an MFA from Warren Wilson College. Her work has appeared in The Bellingham Review and Gulf Coast, among others, and her awards include the Tobias Wolff Award. She teaches writing at various universities and lives with her family in Portland, Oregon. Shout Her Lovely Name is her debut book.




Conversation Starters from ReadingGroupChoices.com

CONVERSATION STARTERS

  1. The first story in Shout Her Lovely Name deals with a mother trying to make sense of a disease that is tearing her family apart.Why do you think our society, when looking at eating and body image issues, tends to point to the mother as the responsible party? Or do you feel this may not be true? Why do the mother and father react differently to their daughter's disease?




Praise For Shout Her Lovely Name

"Call it fiction, but this collection is achingly true to life when it comes to the many ways mothers and daughters grow together and apart, over and over again."

--O, the Oprah Magazine

"The characters are irresistible . . . Serber writes with exquisite patience and sensitivity, and is an expert in the many ways that love throws people together and splits them apart, often at the same time."

--Wall Street Journal

"Elegant...A terrific introduction to Serber’s gifts, and hopefully a preview of good things to come."

--Kirkus Reviews

"Serber’s stellar first collection packs an emotional wallop right from the start...sharp, somber, and sparkling commentary... As provocative as it is poignant, Serber’s searingly honest depiction of the complex, contentious, and confusing bonds at the heart of all families heralds an exceptional new talent."

--Booklist (starred)

"An impressive debut, with insightful, sometimes painful truths about the complicated relationships between mothers and daughters."

--Library Journal

"As its title implies, Natalie Serber’s collection Shout Her Lovely Name is a triumphant battle cry of hard-won victory over the stalemate and injuries between mothers and daughters. She leaves the reader amazed at the tenacity, tenderness, and truth of her characters."

– Siobhan Fallon, author of You Know When the Men are Gone

"These are wise and graceful stories that stay true to their hopeful, fallible characters. Shout Her Lovely Name is beautifully crafted and a real pleasure to read." –Jean Thompson, author of The Year We Left Home

"Coming of age is a painful and beautiful experience in Natalie Serber's hands. These are funny and poignant pieces, building a book that feels novelistic in sweep, yet true to the precision and direct aim of the short story. A real pleasure."--Antonya Nelson

" In the complexities of family triumphs and catastrophes, Natalie Serber is always achingly specific. Between mothers and daughters, women and their lovers, she misses nothing, and in all her scenes, the reader feels the true breath of life." --Charles Baxter

"In the tradition of Lorrie Moore and Tobias Wolff, Natalie Serber's stories uncover the secret hearts of seemingly ordinary people. Funny, heart-felt, and keenly perceptive, this is a book worth shouting about." --Dan Chaon, author of Await Your Reply and Stay Awake

"Shout Her Lovely Name joins the ranks of the finest books ever to address relations between daughters and their mothers – equal parts love and sandpaper. I ached for these characters and cried at their hard-earned moments of joy. A book to make you marvel that someone really does understand, to make you grateful that she wrote it all down so fiercely, so tenderly." --Robin Black, author of If I Loved You, I Would Tell You

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

We Were Liars
E. Lockhart
Delacorte Press
Americanah
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Anchor
The Bees
Laline Paull
Ecco Press
All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile