Visible City

By Tova Mirvis
(Houghton Mifflin, Hardcover, 9780544047747, 249pp.)

Publication Date: March 18, 2014

List Price: $24.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description
For fans of Meg Wolitzer and Allegra Goodman, an intimate and provocative novel about three couples whose paths intersect in their New York City neighborhood, forcing them all to weigh the comfort of stability against the costs of change. Nina is a harried young mother who spends her evenings spying on the older couple across the street through her son's Fisher-Price binoculars. She is drawn to their quiet contentment reading on the couch, massaging each other's feet so unlike her own lonely, chaotic world of nursing and soothing and simply getting by. One night, through that same window, she spies a young couple in the throes of passion. Who are these people, and what happened to her symbol of domestic bliss?

In the coming weeks, Nina encounters the older couple, Leon and Claudia, their daughter Emma and her fiance, and many others on the streets of her Upper West Side neighborhood, eroding the safe distance of her secret vigils. Soon anonymity gives way to different and sometimes dangerous forms of intimacy, and Nina and her neighbors each begin to question their own paths.

With enormous empathy and a keen observational eye, Tova Mirvis introduces a constellation of characters we all know: twenty-somethings unsure about commitments they haven t yet made; thirty-somethings unsure about the ones they have; and sixty-somethings whose empty nest causes all sorts of doubt. "Visible City" invites us to examine those all-important forks in the road, and the conflict between desire and loyalty.




About the Author
Tova Mirvis grew up in Memphis, Tennessee, and lives in New York City. She received her M.F.A. from Columbia University under the tutelage of Rebecca Goldstein and Mary Gordon.


Conversation Starters from ReadingGroupChoices.com

CONVERSATION STARTERS

  1. “At night, Nina went outside and looked at the houses beyond the fence. From here it was hard to know what really went on in people’s lives ” (p. 135). Nina has a history of curiosity. What draws her to other people’s stories? Do you think this type of curiosity will continue?

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile