Words In The Dust

By Trent Reedy
(Arthur A. Levine Books, Hardcover, 9780545261258, 272pp.)

Publication Date: January 2011

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback, Compact Disc, Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

In the tradition of SHABANU, DAUGHTER OF THE WIND and THE BREADWINNER, a beautiful debut about a daughter of Afghanistan discovering new friends and opportunities after the defeat of the Taliban.

Zulaikha hopes. She hopes for peace, now that the Taliban have been driven from Afghanistan; a good relationship with her hard stepmother; and one day even to go to school, or to have her cleft palate fixed. Zulaikha knows all will be provided for her--"Inshallah," God willing.

Then she meets Meena, who offers to teach her the Afghan poetry she taught her late mother. And the Americans come to her village, promising not just new opportunities and dangers, but surgery to fix her face. These changes could mean a whole new life for Zulaikha--but can she dare to hope they'll come true?




About the Author

Trent Reedy is the author of WORDS IN THE DUST, an Al Roker's Book Club pick on the Today Show. Born and raised in Iowa, where he taught high school English, Trent and his wife now live in Spokane, Washington. Please visit his website at www.trentreedy.com.

Indie Bookstore Finder











Update Profile