Tyger Tyger

Tyger Tyger Cover

Tyger Tyger

By Kersten Hamilton

Clarion Books, Hardcover, 9780547330082, 308pp.

Publication Date: November 15, 2010

Description
Teagan Wylltson's best friend, Abby, dreams that horrifying creatures--goblins, shape-shifters, and beings of unearthly beauty but terrible cruelty--are hunting Teagan. Abby is always coming up with crazy stuff, though, so Teagan isn't worried. Her life isn't in danger. In fact, it's perfect. She's on track for a college scholarship. She has a great job. She's focused on school, work, and her future. No boys, no heartaches, no problems.
Until Finn Mac Cumhaill arrives. Finn's a bit on the unearthly beautiful side himself. He has a killer accent and a knee-weakening smile. And either he's crazy or he's been haunting Abby's dreams, because he's talking about goblins, too . . . and about being The Mac Cumhaill, born to fight all goblin-kind. Finn knows a thing or two about fighting. Which is a very good thing, because this time, Abby's right. The goblins are coming.


About the Author
Kersten Hamilton is the author of several picture books and many novels, including the middle grade Gadgets and Gears series and the critically acclaimed YA trilogy TheGoblin Wars. She splits her time between her home in Albuquerque, New Mexico, andher farm in Kentucky. For more about Kersten, please visit www.kerstenhamilton.com.


Praise For Tyger Tyger

"Laced with humor, packed with surprises and driven by suspense, the plot grabs readers from the start using the stylistic tactics of the best fantasy writing. . . . Buy this novel for readers of Franny Billingsley and Dia Calhoun as well as fans of urban fantasy."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Ancient Irish myths and legends mix and mingle with the modern world in this fast-paced fantasy. . . . Hamilton has created characters who are quirky and complex. Their stories are tightly woven together and riveting, and readers will look forward to the next installment in the series".—School Library Journal, starred review

"[A] promising new series. . . . The hints of a tragic fate will keep romance fans reading, while the promise of more magical thrills involving Irish folklore will draw in others."—Booklist "[An] engaging adventure. . . . Even the most myth-savvy readers will revel in the clever twists and surprises."—Publishers Weekly

"Hamilton seamlessly blends magic and realism....The searing chemistry between Tea and Finn will have romance fans swooning"—The Bulletin

"A gentle, mystical story that manages to entwine Irish folklore and first love. An easy read, it is written with an abundance of simple but beautiful descriptive language. . . . The characters are feisty and appealing, and this reviewer looks forward to how the author will develop them throughout the series."—VOYA