The House of Impossible Loves

By Cristina Lopez Barrio; Lisa Carter (Translator)
(Houghton Mifflin, Hardcover, 9780547661193, 319pp.)

Publication Date: June 4, 2013

List Price: $25.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

In the tradition of Laura Esquivel's Like Water For Chocolate, The House of Impossible Loves is a novel set in twentieth-century Spain and France revolving around a family of cursed women.




About the Author
Cristina Lopez Barrio lives in Madrid and is a former intellectual property lawyer.

Lisa Carter is the author of Carolina Reckoning, Beneath a Navajo Moon, Under a Turquoise Sky, and Aloha Rose. She and her husband have two daughters and make their home in Raleigh, North Carolina. A member of ACFW, RWA, and Sisters in Crime, when she isn t writing, Lisa enjoys traveling, quilting, and researching her next romantic adventure. Visit her online at LisaCarterAuthor.com.


Praise For The House of Impossible Loves

"Imbued with magical realism, Barrio’s tale of lost loves sparkles. A gorgeously spun and deftly told tale." - Kirkus

"Barrio’s story combines the timeless quality of a fable with the fully imagined emotional force of a modern novel. [Her characters]...bring to the novel the embroidered richness of a family saga told and retold across generations." -Publisher's Weekly "Carter’s translation of this whimsical novel offers a vivid and sultry language that perfectly reflects the Laguna family and their fantastical world. With self-healing wounds and pet cockroaches, this tale has it all. And while that can prove problematic, there’s no doubt that Barrio is a wonderfully gifted storyteller." - Booklist
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile