The House of Impossible Loves

By Cristina Lopez Barrio
(Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Hardcover, 9780547661193, 336pp.)

Publication Date: June 4, 2013

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

In the tradition of Laura Esquivel's Like Water For Chocolate, The House of Impossible Loves is a novel set in twentieth-century Spain and France revolving around a family of cursed women.




About the Author

Her debut novel for adults, The House of the Impossible Loves, was a bestseller in Spain and has been published in nearly a dozen countries.




Praise For The House of Impossible Loves

"Imbued with magical realism, Barrio’s tale of lost loves sparkles. A gorgeously spun and deftly told tale." - Kirkus

"Barrio’s story combines the timeless quality of a fable with the fully imagined emotional force of a modern novel. [Her characters]...bring to the novel the embroidered richness of a family saga told and retold across generations." -Publisher's Weekly

"Carter’s translation of this whimsical novel offers a vivid and sultry language that perfectly reflects the Laguna family and their fantastical world. With self-healing wounds and pet cockroaches, this tale has it all. And while that can prove problematic, there’s no doubt that Barrio is a wonderfully gifted storyteller." - Booklist

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

Confessions of a Self-Help Writer
Benjamin Dehaven
Lagniappe Publishing
Annihilation
Jeff VanderMeer
FSG Originals
The Martian
Andy Weir
Crown
Benediction
Kent Haruf
Vintage

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile