Care of Wooden Floors

By Will Wiles
(New Harvest, Hardcover, 9780547953564, 304pp.)

Publication Date: October 9, 2012

Other Editions of This Title: Hardcover, Paperback, Compact Disc, Compact Disc, MP3 CD, MP3 CD

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

For fans of Nicholson Baker and Tom McCarthy, this British debut novel is brilliant, comically surreal entertainment about a housesitting gig gone terribly, hilariously wrong. Like Edgar Allen Poe scripting The Odd Couple, or if Kafka’s The Trial had to do with home repair. Waterstones calls it "a black comedy about death, destruction, and interior decoration."




About the Author

WILL WILES is a journalist and contributor to Icon, a monthly architecture and design magazine in the U.K. His work has also appeared in Cabinet and New Statesman, among other publications. Will lives with his wife in London. Visit his blog at willwiles.blogspot.com




Praise For Care of Wooden Floors

“This novel has everything I look for: Line by line the sentences are a pleasure, page by page the story enthralls, and as a whole, the novel is expertly constructed, each precisely cut plank snapping perfectly into place. Clever, funny, creepy, atmospheric, and very entertaining. I realize that's a lot of adjectives, but read the book and you’ll see.”— Charles Yu, author of How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe

“Funny, beguiling, and quietly profound . . . a wonderfully well-crafted debut.” Times Literary Supplement

"Guffaw-out-loud moments…married to the horrified recognition that provokes empathy. A very funny novel provoking schadenfreude and belly laughs." The Independent

“Highly idiosyncratic, well-written, with a vivid sense of place–and weirdly compelling.” –Michael Frayn, author of Skios and Headlong

Fawlty Towers crossed with Freud.”Daily Telegraph

“A nicely turned satire on the notion that the path to spiritual contentment lies in a pristine set of polished wooden floorboards... CARE OF WOODEN FLOORS indicates that Wiles has an eye for beauty, but an even more impressive eye for ugliness. It's a novel full of impeccably stylish writing.” Guardian

“This is a terrific first novel, written with a very engaging deadpan wit, and an understated sense of the absurd.” The Times

Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize

Selected as “Best Fiction Debut of 2012,” ShortList

“This darkly humorous novel from U.K. journalist Wiles involves a nameless protagonist whose eight days of house-sitting turn out to be a lot more hassle than he bargained for. A freelance copywriter in London does his old university friend, Oskar, now a classical musician, a big favor by staying in his ‘nice flat’ located in an unspecified and dour Slavic city. Oskar is a ‘borderline obsessive-compulsive’ who leaves very specific instructions on a number of notes posted throughout the flat, including not only the care of cats Shossy and Stravvy, but, of greater importance, that of the expensive French oak floors. Oskar, in L.A. to deal with divorcing his wife, intends to return soon to his ‘island of perfection.’ Unfortunately, the befuddled protagonist is a hapless caretaker; he lets one of Oskar’s cats die (via piano lid) and, perhaps worse, he spills red wine on the floor. ‘Batface,’ the flat’s bellicose cleaning lady, is no help rescuing the precious floorboard. The narrator is pleased to find that Oskar has a ‘human’ side when he uncovers his hidden porn stash, but the maintenance of the wooden floors soon takes a horrid turn. A strikingly original debut.” Publishers Weekly (starred review; a “Best New Book of the Week”)

Care of Wooden Floors is a charming and engrossing story…This is Will Wiles’ first novel, but it's executed with [the] skill and craftsmanship of a veteran novelist. The prose is clean and elegant, the story tightly focused, the humor and the realism in careful balance.”
The Toronto Star

“If you are a fan of Kafka, you should enjoy this novel, which is reminiscent of The Metamorphosis.”Kirkus Reviews

Care of Wooden Floors turns the placid act of house-sitting into one man’s existential nightmare.” New York Times

“A tight, lovely, unique work full of heart as well as darkness…Wiles is a strong new voice. Enjoy this one with a glass of wine—if you dare.” —Bookpage

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

We Were Liars
E. Lockhart
Delacorte Press
Americanah
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Anchor
The Bees
Laline Paull
Ecco Press
All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile