The Mill River Recluse

By Darcie Chan
(Ballantine Books, Paperback, 9780553391879, 416pp.)

Publication Date: June 17, 2014

Other Editions of This Title: Hardcover

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

The sensational New York Times bestseller The Mill River Recluse reminds us that friendship, family, and love can come from the most unexpected places. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy.

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.

From the outside, Mill River looks like any sleepy little Vermont town where everyone knows everyone and people never need to lock their doors. There are newcomers for whom this appeals, from police officer Kyle Hansen and his daughter Rowen, who are starting over after heartache, to Claudia Simon, the schoolteacher who is determined to reinvent herself.
 
But on closer inspection, there are those in Mill River—including a stealthy arsonist, a covetous nurse, and a pilfering priest—who have things they wish to hide. None more than the widow Mary McAllister, who for the past sixty years has secluded herself in her marble mansion overlooking the town. Most of the residents have never even seen the peculiar woman. Only the priest, Father O’Brien, knows the deep secrets that keep Mary isolated—and that, once revealed, will forever change the community.
 
Praise for The Mill River Recluse
 
“A heartwarming story.”Examiner.com
 
“[Darcie] Chan’s sweet novel displays her talent. . . . A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together.”Kirkus Reviews
 
“A real page-turner.”IndieReader
 
“Chan does an amazing job with pacing while maintaining continuity and weaving universal themes such as friendship, love, new beginnings and overcoming adversities into small town life.”RT Book Reviews
 
“This debut novel is a genre-breaking thriller with romantic overtones that should appeal to both men and women.”Huntington News
 
“Chan’s compassionate novel . . . blends elements of mystery, suspense and romance . . . [and] culminates in a beautifully rendered denouement that rekindles hope for a troubled world.”Shelf Awareness




About the Author

Darcie Chan is the New York Times bestselling author of the eBook sensation The Mill River Recluse and the upcoming novel The Mill River Redemption. She has been featured in The New York Times, USA Today, and The Wall Street Journal. For fourteen years, Chan worked as an attorney drafting environmental and natural resource legislation for the U.S. Senate. She now writes fiction full-time and lives north of New York City with her husband and son.




Praise For The Mill River Recluse

“A heartwarming story.”Examiner.com
 
“[Darcie] Chan’s sweet novel displays her talent. . . . A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together.”Kirkus Reviews
 
“A real page-turner.”IndieReader
 
“Chan does an amazing job with pacing while maintaining continuity and weaving universal themes such as friendship, love, new beginnings and overcoming adversities into small town life.”RT Book Reviews
 
“This debut novel is a genre-breaking thriller with romantic overtones that should appeal to both men and women.”Huntington News
 
“Chan’s compassionate novel . . . blends elements of mystery, suspense and romance . . . [and] culminates in a beautifully rendered denouement that rekindles hope for a troubled world.”Shelf Awareness

Indie Bookstore Finder











Update Profile