The Smell of Other People's Houses

The Smell of Other People's Houses Cover

The Smell of Other People's Houses

By Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock

Wendy Lamb Books, Hardcover, 9780553497786, 240pp.

Publication Date: February 23, 2016

Description

Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock's Alaska is beautiful and wholly unfamiliar . A thrilling, arresting debut. Gayle Forman, "New York Times" bestselling author of "If I Stay" and "I Was Here"
""
A] singular debut. . . . Hitchcock] weav es] the alternating voices of four young people into a seamless and continually surprising story of risk, love, redemption, catastrophe, and sacrifice. "The Wall Street Journal"
This deeply moving and authentic debut set in 1970s Alaska is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America's Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.
Ruth has a secret that she can t hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she's always known on her family's fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it's safer to run away than to stay home until one of them ends up in terrible danger.
Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable book is about people who try to save each other and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.
Hitchcock's debut resonates with the timeless quality of a classic. This is a fascinating character study a poetic interweaving of rural isolation and coming-of-age. John Corey Whaley, award-winning author of "Where Things Come Back" and "Highly Illogical Behavior"
As an Alaskan herself, Bonnie Sue Hitchcock is able to bring alive this town, and this group of poor teens and their families that live there. Bustle.com.