Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

The Goblin's Puzzle

The Goblin's Puzzle Cover

The Goblin's Puzzle

Being the Adventures of a Boy with No Name and Two Girls Called Alice

By Andrew Chilton

Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, Hardcover, 9780553520705, 288pp.

Publication Date: January 19, 2016

Advertisement
Description
Brimming with dragons, goblins, and logic puzzles, this middle-grade fantasy adventure is perfect for readers who enjoyed The Princess Bride or Rump.

THE BOY is a nameless slave on a mission to uncover his true destiny.
THE GOBLIN holds all the answers, but he's too tricky to be trusted.
PLAIN ALICE is a bookish peasant girl carried off by a confused dragon.
And PRINCESS ALICE is the lucky girl who wasn't kidnapped.

All four are tangled up in a sinister plot to take over the kingdom, and together they must face kind monsters, a cruel magician, and dozens of deathly boring palace bureaucrats. They're a ragtag bunch, but with strength, courage, and plenty of deductive reasoning, they just might outwit the villains and crack the goblin's puzzle.

"An adventure bursting with wit and charm. The characters are fresh, the story is thrilling, and the puzzles are downright diabolical. A wonderful book." --Jonathan Auxier, author of The Night Gardener

"Brimming with sarcastic, cheeky, laugh-out-loud humor, this is a smart, original, and completely engaging adventure." --School Library Journal, starred review.


About the Author
Andrew S. Chilton drew inspiration for The Goblin's Puzzle from a wide variety of sources, ranging from The Hobbit to Monty Python to Aristotle's Nicomachean Ethics. As a kid, he gobbled up fantasy novels and logic puzzles, and as an adult, he spent over ten years as a practicing lawyer before launching his career as a writer. He lives in Los Angeles, California. This is his first novel.
Advertisement