Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

Goodbye Days

Goodbye Days Cover

Goodbye Days

By Jeff Zentner

Crown Books for Young Readers, Hardcover, 9780553524062, 416pp.

Publication Date: March 7, 2017

Advertisement
Description
"Gorgeous, heartbreaking, and ultimately life-affirming," says Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything.
"Jeff Zentner, you perfectly fill the John-Green-sized hole in our heart." --Justine Magazine

Perfect for fans of Looking for Alaska and Zentner's own The Serpent King, one of the most highly acclaimed YA novels of 2016.
What if you did something so terrible that it literally steals your breath away?
Something you wish you could take back every waking minute of your life. Something everyone is guilty of doing at one time or another--but this time, it destroyed life as you knew it forever.
"I would tell you that I definitely killed my three best friends. Here's the cruel irony for the writer I am: I wrote them out of existence.
Where are you guys? Text me back."

Carver Briggs never thought a simple text would cause a fatal crash, killing his three best friends, Mars, Eli, and Blake. But now Carver can't stop blaming himself for the accident and even worse, a powerful judge is pressuring the district attorney to open up a criminal investigation.
Luckily, Carver has some unexpected allies: Eli's girlfriend, the only person to stand by him at school; Dr. Mendez, his new therapist; and Blake's grandmother, who asks Carver to spend a "goodbye day" together to share their memories and say a proper farewell.
Soon the other families are asking for their own goodbye day with Carver--but he's unsure of their motives. Will they all be able to make peace with their losses, or will these goodbye days bring Carver one step closer to a complete breakdown or--even worse--prison?
"Evocative, heartbreaking, and beautifully written." --Buzzfeed
"Masterful." --TeenVogue.com
"One of the most stunningly heartfelt, lump-in-your-throat novels I've ever had the pleasure of reading. Hold on to your heart: this book will wreck you, fix you, and most definitely change you." --Becky Albertalli, author of Morris Award winner Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
"Tender, honest, moving, and lyrical. His characters live and breathe. Ahh, lucky me. Lucky us. Zentner is the real thing." --Benjamin Alire Saenz, winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction and Printz Honor winning author of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe


About the Author
Jeff Zentner is the acclaimed author of The Serpent King. In addition to writing, he is also a singer-songwriter and guitarist who has recorded with Iggy Pop, Nick Cave, and Debbie Harry. Goodbye Days is his love letter to the city of Nashville and the talented people who populate it. He lives in Nashville with his wife and son. You can follow him on Facebook, on Instagram, and on Twitter at @jeffzentner.
Advertisement