Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

Lily and Dunkin

Lily and Dunkin Cover

Lily and Dunkin

By Donna Gephart

Delacorte Press, Hardcover, 9780553536744, 352pp.

Publication Date: May 3, 2016

Advertisement
Description
"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole." --VOYA
For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love.

Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you're in the eighth grade.
Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he's called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse.
One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change.
A JLG Selection
An Indie Next Pick

Amazon Best Book of the Month
CBC's May Hot Off the Press
An NAIBA Seasonal Pick
A New York Public Library Best book for Kids, 2016
Another Indie Favorite Title

Amazon's Top 20 Children's Books of 2016
"Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion."--Kirkus

"A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention."--Booklist, starred

"Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation... A] valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning."--PW
"This would be a fantastic addition to any middle grade library collection, and is highly recommended for all ages."--VOYA
"Lily and Dunkin is a delight. Here's a book for anyone who's ever struggled with being different--or anyone who's ever loved someone who bears the burden of difference. . . . Crucial, heart-breaking, and inspiring." --Jennifer Finney Boylan, author of She's Not There and Stuck in the Middle with You


About the Author
Donna Gephart's award-winning novels are packed with humor and heart. They include Death by Toilet Paper; Olivia Bean, Trivia Queen; How to Survive Middle-School; and As if Being 12-3/4 Isn't Bad Enough, My Mother Is Running for President! Donna is a popular speaker at schools, conferences, and book festivals. For reading guides, resources, writing tips, and more, visit donnagephart.com.
Advertisement