Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

This Is the Part Where You Laugh

This Is the Part Where You Laugh Cover

This Is the Part Where You Laugh

By Peter Brown Hoffmeister

Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, Hardcover, 9780553538106, 336pp.

Publication Date: May 17, 2016

Advertisement
Description
"So real it hurts."--David Arnold, New York Times bestselling author of Kids of Appetite
Fans of Andrew Smith and Matt de la Pena will be captivated by this summer-in-the-life of a teenage guy growing up in a trailer park in Eugene, Oregon.
Travis plans to spend the summer as follows:
- Working on his basketball game with his friend, Creature.
- Reading excerpts from Creature's novel-in-progress: The Pervert's Guide to Russian Princesses.
- Canoeing around the lake, trying to catch a glimpse of the beautiful girl who just moved in.
- Not getting into trouble, not going back to juvie . . .
- Searching the homeless camps for his mother, with a jar full of cash to help her get back on her feet.
From a powerful new voice in YA literature comes an unforgettable account of growing up, making mistakes, and growing out of the shadow of drug abuse.
"A raw offbeat novel with an abundance of honesty and heart." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Hoffmeister crushes it. There is blood and truth on every page." --Estelle Laure, author of This Raging Light


About the Author
Peter Brown Hoffmeister is the author of the critically acclaimed adult novel Graphic the Valley, and the memoir The End Of Boys. A former troubled teen, Hoffmeister now runs the Integrated Outdoor Program, serving teens of all backgrounds, taking them into wilderness areas to backpack, climb, spelunk, orienteer, and whitewater raft. He lives with his wife and daughters in Eugene, Oregon. Visit him online at peterbrownhoffmeister.wordpress.com and follow him on Twitter @peterbrownhoff
Advertisement