Bum Rush the Page

Bum Rush the Page

A Def Poetry Jam

By Tony Medina (Editor); Louis Reyes Rivera (Editor); Sonia Sanchez (Foreword by)

Three Rivers Press (CA), Paperback, 9780609808405, 320pp.

Publication Date: October 23, 2001


Bum Rush the Page is a groundbreaking collection, capturing the best new work from the poets who have brought fresh energy, life, and relevance to American poetry.

“Here is a democratic orchestration of voices and visions, poets of all ages, ethnicities, and geographic locations coming together to create a dialogue and to jam–not slam. This is our mouth on paper, our hearts on our sleeves, our refusal to shut up and swallow our silence. These poems are tough, honest, astute, perceptive, lyrical, blunt, sad, funny, heartbreaking, and true. They shout, they curse, they whisper, and sing. But most of all, they tell it like it is.”
–Tony Medina, from the Introduction

About the Author
Tony Medina, two-time winner of the Paterson Prize, was born in the South Bronx and raised in the Throgs Neck Housing Projects. He served in the United States Army and earned a BA in English at Baruch College, CUNY, on the G.I. Bill. He has taught at Long Island University's Brooklyn campus and Borough of Manhattan Community College, CUNY. The author of several books for adults and young readers, his poetry, fiction, and essays appear in over forty anthologies. Medina, whose most recent books are MY OLD MAN WAS ALWAYS ON THE LAM (NYQ Books, 2011), BROKE ON ICE (Aquarius Press/Willow Books, 2011), and I and I, Bob Marley (Lee & Low Books, 2009), earned an MA and PhD in English from Binghamton University, SUNY, and is Associate Professor of Creative Writing at Howard University.

Sonia Sanchez is an award-winning poet, mother, activist, professor, and international lecturer on Black culture and literature, women's liberation, peace and racial justice. A sponsor of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom, she has written over 16 books, including: Homecoming; We a BaddDDD People; Love Poems; I've Been a Woman: New and Selected Poems; A Sound Investment and Other Stories; Homegirls and Handgrenades; Under A Soprano Sky; Wounded in the House of a Friend; Does Your House Have Lions?; Like the Singing Coming off the Drums; and most recently, Shake Loose My Skin.