Willa the Wonderful

By Susan Milord
(Houghton Mifflin Books for Children, Hardcover, 9780618275229, 32pp.)

Publication Date: April 2003

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

Willa knows exactly what she wants to be when she grows up—a fairy princess, complete with wings, wand, and fairy dust. But being a fairy princess is not as easy as it looks, and soon Willa’s in trouble at school and in a fight with her best friend. Does Willa have what it takes to make good things happen and be a good fairy princess?




About the Author

Susan Milord lives in Norwich, Vermont, where she finds inspiration for her books all around her.




Praise For Willa the Wonderful

“Willa is a porcine charmer…Newcomer Milord creates an exuberant and inventive heroine in Willa.” Publishers Weekly

“The acrylic ink, watercolor, and colored pencil illustrations have a cartoony charm, and the close juxtaposition of piglet and princess has an inherent humor bound to elicit giggles from the read aloud crowd.” The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

“Milord taps into the same vein as Marc Brown does in his Arthur Books, creating thinly disguised animal characters to take on human challenges of school and family life.” Booklist, ALA

“In the tradition of Kevin Henkes’s Lily and Ian Falconer’s Olivia come Willa, a young pig who has planned her career path.” Kirkus Reviews

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company
Landline
Rainbow Rowell
St. Martin's Press
New and Selected Poems
David Lehman
Scribner
Still Some Cake
James Cummins
Carnegie-Mellon University Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile