Sophie Hartley, On Strike

By Stephanie Greene
(Clarion Books, Hardcover, 9780618719600, 160pp.)

Publication Date: December 2006

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

Sophie is supposed to help out around the house, and that’s bad enough. But then her mother comes up with a job chart, and all of a sudden Sophie has a whole list of new chores to do. Some of them, like cleaning the downstairs toilet, are gross! “Menial,” says big brother Thad, who somehow manages to avoid doing any of his own new jobs. “No fair!” says Sophie.
Sophie’s father went on strike when his beliefs were on the line. Now Sophie sees no alternative but to stand up for what she believes in.

The ensuing battle of wills threatens to defeat even the indomitable Sophie. Will the Hartleys have to eat peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for every meal from now on? Will they ever have happy family times together again?




About the Author

Stephanie Greene is the author of many books for young readers, including the popular Owen Foote books. Ms. Greene lives in Chapel Hill, N.C. Her website is www.stephaniegreenebooks.com.




Praise For Sophie Hartley, On Strike

"Funny family hijinks explode into pure hilarity with lively dialogue and a simple plot." Kirkus Reviews

"Fans of Cleary, Hurwitz, and the Judy Moody series will enjoy this snapshot of real family life." Horn Book

"Well-developed characters, smooth dialogue, and a satisfying ending will leave [readers] eager to read more of Sophie's escapades." School Library Journal

"Greene delivers with humor, sharp dialogue, and a family dynamic that remains both loving and real." Booklist, ALA

"[An] entertaining portrayal of domestic unrest." Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"This solidly middle-class family will remind many of the Quimbys." Horn Book Guide, Pointer

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company
Landline
Rainbow Rowell
St. Martin's Press
New and Selected Poems
David Lehman
Scribner
Still Some Cake
James Cummins
Carnegie-Mellon University Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile