The Nine Lives of Alexander Baddenfield

The Nine Lives of Alexander Baddenfield Cover

The Nine Lives of Alexander Baddenfield

By John Bemelmans Marciano; Sophie Blackall (Illustrator)

Viking Children's Books, Hardcover, 9780670014064, 135pp.

Publication Date: October 3, 2013

Alexander Baddenfield is a horrible boy a really horrible boy who is the last in a long line of lying, thieving scoundrels. One day, Alexander has an astonishing idea. Why not transplant the nine lives from his cat into himself? Suddenly, Alexander has lives to spare, and goes about using them up, attempting the most outrageous feats he can imagine. Only when his lives start running out, and he is left with only one just like everyone else, does he realize how reckless he has been.
With its wickedly funny story and equally clever illustrations, this is dark humor at its most delicious.

About the Author
John Bemelmans Marciano is the grandson of "Madeline" creator Ludwig Bemelmans. A self-taught illustrator, his previous books for Viking include "Delilah" and "Madeline Says Merci,"

Sophie Blackall is an Australian illustrator whose previous books include "Ruby's Wish" and "Meet Wild Boars". She also illustrates the Ivy & Bean series.Sophie lives in Brooklyn, New York and can be visited at

Praise For The Nine Lives of Alexander Baddenfield


"Deliciously wicked"—Booklist

"Fun for a sophisticated reader, with puns, anagrams, and good-natured satirical potshots"—The Horn Book