Lydia's Party

By Margaret Hawkins
(Viking Books, Hardcover, 9780670015764, 294pp.)

Publication Date: January 23, 2014

List Price: $26.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description
It is this kind of book: the kind one buys extra copies of to pass out to friends.
" Kirkus Reviews "(Starred Review)
For fans of Anne Tyler and Anna Quindlen, a mesmerizing portrait of friendship that explores seven women's lives with a generous embrace and wondrous wisdom
Lydia is having a party it's a party she hosts every year for six women friends who treasure the midwinter bash. Over a table laden with a feast of food and wine, the women revel in sharing newsy updates, simmering secrets, and laughter. As this particular evening unfolds, Lydia prepares to make a shattering announcement.
As we follow these friends through their party preparations, we meet flawed but lovable characters who are navigating the hassles of daily chores while also meditating in stolen moments on their lives, their regrets, their complicated relationships, and their deepest desires. When Lydia's announcement shocks them all, they rediscover the enduring bonds of friendship and find their lives changing in unexpected ways.
Tender, wryly funny, and exquisitely written, "Lydia's Party" poignantly considers both the challenges of everyday life and of facing our fears while creating characters whose foibles and feistiness will capture readers hearts.



About the Author
Margaret Hawkins is the author of "A Year of Cats and Dogs", "How to Survive a Natural Disaster", and "After Schizophrenia: The Story of My Sister's Reawakening".
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile