The Rime of the Modern Mariner

By Nick Hayes
Viking Books, Hardcover, 9780670025800, 336pp.

Publication Date: October 25, 2012

List Price: $32.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.




Description
An extraordinary, timely update on the classic Coleridge poem
Is it possible to update a masterpiece? Only, perhaps, with a brand-new masterpiece. Written in 1797, The Rime of the Ancient Mariner was the original eco-fable; drawn in 2010, "The Rime of the Modern Mariner" is a graphic novel, now set in the cesspool of the North Atlantic Garbage Patch thus adding a timely and resonant message about the destruction of our seas.
Hayes's visually striking debut is drawn with complex, iconic images reminiscent of old woodcuts. Emerging from every exquisite page are the poem's enduring themes: compassion for nature, a sense of connection among all living things, and rightful outrage at man's thoughtless destruction of the environment. Powerful and evocative, lush and stark, "The Rime of the Modern Mariner" will appeal to fans of Habibi and Persepolis.
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound