The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards

By Kristopher Jansma
(Viking Books, Hardcover, 9780670026005, 254pp.)

Publication Date: March 21, 2013

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

"F. Scott Fitzgerald meets Wes Anderson" (The Village Voice) in this inventive and witty debut about a young man’s quest to become a writer and the misadventures in life and love that take him around the globe

From as early as he can remember, the hopelessly unreliableyet hopelessly earnestnarrator of this ambitious debut novel has wanted to become a writer.

From the jazz clubs of Manhattan to the villages of Sri Lanka, Kristopher Jansma’s irresistible narrator will be inspired and haunted by the success of his greatest friend and rival in writing, the eccentric and brilliantly talented Julian McGann, and endlessly enamored with Julian’s enchanting friend, Evelyn, the green-eyed girl who got away. After the trio has a disastrous falling out, desperate to tell the truth in his writing and to figure out who he really is, Jansma’s narrator finds himself caught in a never-ending web of lies.

As much a story about a young man and his friends trying to make their way in the world as a profoundly affecting exploration of the nature of truth and storytelling, The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards will appeal to readers of Tom Rachman’s The Imperfectionists and Jennifer Egan’s Pulitzer Prizewinning A Visit from the Goon Squad with its elegantly constructed exploration of the stories we tell to find out who we really are.



 




About the Author
Legacy is a collection of fiction and non-fiction stories written by a diverse group of award-winning and best-selling authors. Among our contributors are: the winner of the 2014 Sherwood Anderson Award for Fiction, a New York Times best-selling author, a Canadian best-selling author and the winner of the 2014 Lowell Thomas Award of the Society of American Travel Writers. The stories, through each writer's unique lens, remind us of the permanence of our actions, our words...

Check out the full list of contributors and their bios.

Preface by: Allison Hiltz, founder of The Book Wheel website

Authors: Regina Calcaterra, Stephanie Carroll, Adria J. Cimino, Maureen Foley, Lizzie Harwood, J.J. Hensley, Kristopher Jansma, Vicki Lesage, Jenny Milchman, Piper Punches, Didier Quemener, Marissa Stapley, David Whitehouse, Paula Young Lee

Author proceeds from anthology sales will be donated to PAWS for Reading, a program that allows children to read aloud to a therapy dog (or cat, or bunny!) in order to improve reading and communication skills.

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound

The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards

 

More Book Videos










Update Profile