Island of Bones

By Imogen Robertson
(Pamela Dorman Books, Hardcover, 9780670026272, 384pp.)

Publication Date: October 11, 2012

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback, Hardcover, Paperback, Paperback, Hardcover, Hardcover

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

“Robertson has a wicked way with suspense.” —Seattle Times

Imogen Robertson’s first two historical suspense novels featuring the forthright Mrs. Harriet Westerman and reclusive anatomist Gabriel Crowther have earned both glowing praise and a growing readership.

England, 1783. In Island of Bones, Crowther’s haunting past is at last revealed. For years he has pursued his forensic studies—and the occasional murder investigation—far from his family estate. But an ancient tomb there will reveal a wealth of secrets.  When laborers discover an extra body inside, the lure of the mystery brings Crowther home at last.

Fans of both historical fiction à la Anne Perry and the intricate forensics of Tess Gerritsen will be delighted by Robertson’s latest.




About the Author

Imogen Robertson worked as a television, film, and radio director before becoming a full-time writer. She is the author of four Westerman/Crowther novels: Instruments of Darkness; Anatomy of Murder; Island of Bones, which was short-listed for the 2011 Crime Writers’ Association Ellis Peters Historical Award; and forthcoming from Pamela Dorman Books, Circle of Shadows. In 2012 she was shortlisted for the CWA Dagger in the Library. She lives in London.




Praise For Island of Bones

Praise for Island of Bones:

“Robertson's superior third historical featuring anatomist Gabriel Crowther and widow Harriet Westerman (after 2012's Anatomy of Murder) makes the most of its revelations about Crowther's backstory . . . First-rate prose and the deepening relationship between the two leads bode well for the longevity of this series.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Set aside quality time to fully enjoy this richly layered, engaging historical series; a great suggestion for fans of Anne Perry, Charles Finch, and C.S. Harris.” Library Journal

“An altogether satisfying historical mystery.” —Booklist

“[An] audacious mix of cultural gloss and uncomplicated, straight-ahead storytelling. The multi-layered nuance of Peter Ackroyd and the buttonholing narrative grasp of Stephen King are stirred into the mix.” —The Independent (UK)

"A new Imogen Robertson book is fast becoming something of an event. ...this follow-up does not disappoint.  As ever, the characters are enticing and the plot absorbing. If you've not read the previous books, do not despair--they each stand alone. But if you have time on your hands, now is your chance to catch up."
The Daily Mail (UK)

Praise for Anatomy of Murder:

“Memorable prose, strong and unusual leads, a sophisticated plot with several unexpected turns, and an accurate portrayal of the period all make this a winner.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Robertson's language is spry . . . her scene-setting broad and detailed, her prose gracefully pressed into the service of a serpentine plot."
Financial Times (UK)

“In the overcrowded field of historical fiction, Robertson has the smarts comfortably to outpace most of her rivals.” —The Independent (UK)

Praise for Instruments of Darkness:

“A sensitive melodrama. . . . Robertson’s enjoyment of the period and her characters is infectious.” —The New York Times Book Review (Editor’s Choice)    “A thoroughly engaging novel, with rich prose and an intricate, suspenseful plot, with melodramatic, Gothic touches in perfect keeping with the historical period. Robertson has already written another Westerman/Crowther mystery. . . . let us hope for many more.” —Associated Press   “Every so often I encounter a book that makes me think with envy: ‘How I wish I could have written this story!’ Instruments of Darkness is just that book—poetic, enchanting, and chillingly memorable. Imogen Robertson is an exquisite writer, and this is an extraordinary novel.” —Tess Gerritsen, author of The Silent Girl   “Mayhem runs amok in this period thriller. [Robertson] pulls out all the stops. . . a roaring soap opera of a novel.” —The Washington Times   “Impressive . . . A ripping homage to Dickens, Austen and Conan Doyle, Instruments of Darkness will keep you up at night, and then, like me, waiting for the sequel.” —Seattle Times   “The book works splendidly as a period thriller, with complicated leads and informative details that illuminate 18th-century England for modern readers.” —Publishers Weekly   “This debut is getting some play and should well serve lovers of historical suspense.”  —Library Journal

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

Lucky Us
Amy Bloom
Random House
Good Poems, American Places
Garrison Keillor
Penguin Books
The Paleo Kitchen
Juli Bauer; George Bryant
Victory Belt Publishing
The Great Glass Sea
Josh Weil
Grove Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile