A Dangerous Fiction

A Mystery

By Barbara Rogan
(Viking Adult, Hardcover, 9780670026500, 336pp.)

Publication Date: July 25, 2013

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

When a glamorous literary agent falls prey to a violent stalker, she discovers that the publishing biz can really be murder, for fans of The Spellman Files and Maisie Dobbs
 
“Suspenseful . . . Barbara Rogan cleverly explores . . . our capacity for self-deception and weaves it into an absorbing mystery that keeps its secret until the very end.”
—NPR

Jo Donovan always manages to come out on top. Originally from the backwoods of Appalachia, she forged a hard path to elegant lunches and parties among New York City’s literati. At thirty-five, she’s the widow of the renowned novelist (and notorious playboy) Hugo Donovan, the owner of one of the best literary agencies in town, and is one of the most sought-after agents in the business. But all this is about to fall apart, as a would-be client turns stalker, a hack shops around a proposal for an unauthorized tell-all biography of Hugo, and a handsome old flame shows up without warning.

Both a seasoned author and a former literary agent herself, Barbara Rogan knows the publishing world from all angles. Fans of Lisa Lutz and Jaqueline Winspear will adore Jo Donovan and Rogan’s wickedly sharp tale that skewers the dangerous fictions we read—and the dangerous fictions we tell ourselves.


 




About the Author

Barbara Rogan is the author of eight novels and coauthor of two nonfiction books. Her fiction has been translated into six languages. She has taught fiction writing at Hofstra University and currently teaches for Writers Digest University and in her own online school, Next Level Workshops.  She lives on Long Island.




Praise For A Dangerous Fiction

Praise for A Dangerous Fiction by Barbara Rogan:
 
“A terrific read! A thriller with a psychological heart of mystery, a double-ended love story, and a fascinating look at the world of high-stakes publishing.”
Diana Gabaldon, New York Times bestselling author of Outlander and An Echo in the Bone 

“Clearly, the most dangerous fictions are the ones we tell ourselves.”
—J. A. Jance, New York Times bestselling author of Judgment Call and Edge of Evil 

“Required reading: A glamorous New York literary agent has a lot to fear—and not just from reading bad novels. In Rogan’s thriller, uber-agent Jo Donovan finds members of her uptown inner circle brutally murdered shortly after she rejects a manuscript. But things may get worse: She is certain the detective sent by the NYPD is not New York’s finest. In fact, he’s her ex-boyfriend. You might want to lock your door.”
New York Post

“Rogan gives readers a lot of insider publishing tidbits and provides a very likeable and believable protagonist in Jo.”
Cleveland Plain Dealer
 
“Fast-paced and witty, full of deftly drawn characters, Rogan's literary mystery introduces a tough but compassionate heroine and an entertaining new series.”
Shelf Awareness

“This literary mystery . . . [is] a perfect beach read.”
Library Journal

“Boasting an exciting pace, well-constructed scenes, and inside information about the publishing word, this engaging mystery will attract readers of P. D. James’ similar Original Sin (1995), an Adam Dalgliesh crime story set in the London publishing world.”
Booklist 

“Rogan does a masterful job of juggling the mounting suspense with a full-bodied portrait of New York literary life . . . The fresh setting, the tricky plot, and the strong characterizations make A Dangerous Fiction one of the outstanding mysteries of 2013.”
—CT News
 
“A clever mystery . . . [with] an appealing, empathetic narrator.”
Publishers Weekly

“The tension is inescapable as the novel races to its dramatic conclusion.”
Book Reporter

A Dangerous Fiction not only has a suspenseful plot, but a cast of colorful, carefully drawn secondary players who advance the theme that we all may be living a dangerous fiction—not really knowing others, not really knowing ourselves. . . . Barbara Rogan cleverly explores . . . our capacity for self-deception and weaves it into an absorbing mystery that keeps its secret until the very end.”
—NPR

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

Landline
Rainbow Rowell
St. Martin's Press
Daily Love
Mastin Kipp
Hay House
The Magician's Land
Lev Grossman
Viking Adult
10% Happier
Dan Harris
It Books

Make Your Own Wishlist

FIND US ON:
IndieBound on Twitter IndieBound on Facebook







Update Profile