The War for All the Oceans

From Nelson at the Nile to Napoleon at Waterloo

By Roy Adkins; Lesley Adkins
(Viking Adult, Hardcover, 9780670038640, 560pp.)

Publication Date: August 16, 2007

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback, Compact Disc, Compact Disc, MP3 CD

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

A brutal, action-packed account of the sea battles of the Napoleonic War by the author of the bestselling Nelson's Trafalgar

Roy Adkins (with his wife Lesley) returns to the Napoleonic War in The War for All the Oceans, a gripping account of the naval struggle that lasted from 1798 to 1815, a period marked at the beginning by Napoleon's seizing power and at the end by the War of 1812. In this vivid and visceral account, Adkins draws on eyewitness records to portray not only the battles but also the details of a sailor's life--shipwrecks, press-gangs, prostitutes, spies, and prisoners of war.

The War for All the Oceans is epic narrative history sure to appeal to fans of Patrick O'Brian and C. S. Forester, as well as all readers of military and social history.




About the Author

Roy and Lesley Adkins are husband-and-wife historians and archaeologists and the bestselling authors of Nelson���������s Trafalgar, Jack Tar, and The Keys of Egypt, among other
books. They live in Devon, England.

Indie Bookstore Finder











Update Profile