A Wonder-Book for Girls and Boys

A Wonder-Book for Girls and Boys

By Nathaniel Hawthorne; Arthur Rackman (Illustrator)

Everyman's Library, Hardcover, 9780679436430, 260pp.

Publication Date: September 1994

Six legends of Greek mythology, retold for children by Nathaniel Hawthorne. Included are The Gorgon's Head, The Golden Touch, The Paradise of Children, The Three Golden Apples, The Miraculous Pitcher, and The Chimaera. In 1838, Hawthorne suggested to Henry Wadsworth Longfellow that they collaborate on a story for children based on the legend of the Pandora's Box, but this never materialized. He wrote A Wonder Book between April and July 1851, adapting six legends most freely from Charles Anton's "A Classical Dictionary" (1842). He set out deliberately to modernize the stories, freeing them from what he called cold moonshine and using a romantic, readable style that was criticized by adults but proved universally popular with children. With full-color illustrations throughout by Arthur Rackham.

About the Author
Nathaniel Hawthorne (1804 1864) was an American author who is perhaps best known for The Scarlet Letter and the short-story collection Twice-Told Tales.