Mick Harte Was Here

Mick Harte Was Here Cover

Mick Harte Was Here

By Barbara Park

Random House Children's Books, Paperback, 9780679882039, 96pp.

Publication Date: August 27, 1996

Description

An award-winning, heartrending young middle grade novel from Barbara Park the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Junie B. Jones series just right for readers of Frindle, Love That Dog, The Lemonade War, and other classic young middle grade favorites.

Kids aren t supposed to die.
Phoebe's brother, Mick, was one of the funniest, coolest kids you d ever meet the kid who made you laugh until your stomach hurt, even if you were mad at him. The kid who freaked his and Phoebe's mom out by putting a ceramic eye in a defrosted chicken; who went trick-or-treating as Thomas Crapper, the inventor of the modern-day flush toilet; who did a wild solo dance in front of the entire school. He was the kid you d want to be friends with. So how can he be gone? And how will Phoebe's family survive without him?
Winner of 12 State Awards
An IRA-CBC Young Adults Choice
A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year

* Genius . . . excruciatingly real . . . powerful. Publishers Weekly, starred
A] wrenching story permeated with humor and hope. School Library Journal
For the Review section (please add the two reviews and the state awards below):
A very moving story about a terrific 12-year-old boy. By the end of the book, readers miss him, too. Kirkus Reviews
Park skillfully interweaves humor and pain in this unique, utterly believable account of Phoebe's attempt to cope with a heartbreaking loss. The Horn Book
WINNER Georgia Children's Book Award
WINNER Connecticut Nutmeg Book Award
WINNER Kansas William Allen White Children's Book Award
WINNER North Dakota Flicker Tale Children's Book Award
WINNER Rhode Island Children's Book Award
WINNER South Carolina Children's Book Award
WINNER Vermont Dorothy Canfield Fisher Book Award
WINNER Illinois Rebecca Caudill Young Readers Book Award
WINNER Indiana Young Hoosier Book Award
WINNER Iowa Children's Choice Award
WINNER Minnesota Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award
NOMINEE Washington Evergreen Young Adult Book Award
WINNER Kentucky Bluegrass Master List



About the Author
BARBARA PARK (1947 2013) is beloved by millions as the author of the wildly popular "New York Times" bestselling Junie B. Jones books, which have been translated into multiple languages and are time-honored staples in elementary school classrooms around the world. She is also the author of award-winning middle grade novels and bestselling picture books, including "Skinnybones, Almost Starring Skinnybones, Mick Harte Was Here, " and "The Kid in the Red Jacket."

"


Praise For Mick Harte Was Here

"A full-fledged and fully convincing drama" (Publishers Weekly).