To Love and Be Wise

To Love and Be Wise Cover

To Love and Be Wise

By Josephine Tey; Robert Barnard (Introduction by)

Touchstone Books, Paperback, 9780684006314, 224pp.

Publication Date: August 18, 1998

A witty and sophisticated mystery featuring bestselling author Josephine Tey's popular Inspector Alan Grant, a beloved character created by a woman considered to be one of the greatest mystery writers of all time.
Literary sherry parties were not Alan Grant's cup of tea. But when the Scotland Yard Inspector arrived to pick up actress Marta Hallard for dinner, he was struck by the handsome young American photographer, Leslie Searle. Author Lavinia Fitch was sure her guest "must have been something very wicked in ancient Greece," and the art colony at Salcott St. Mary would have agreed. Yet Grant heard nothing more of Searle until the news of his disappearance. Had Searle drowned by accident or could he have been murdered by one of his young women admirers? Was it a possible case of suicide or had the photographer simply vanished for reasons of his own?

About the Author
Elizabeth MacKintosh used two pen names during her writing career: Josephine Tey, who was also her Suffolk great-great-grandmother, and Gordon Daviot. She was born in 1897 in Inverness, Scotland, where she attended the Royal Academy. Miss MacKintosh later trained for three years at the Anstey Physical Training College in Birmingham, then began her teaching career as a physical training instructor. She gave up teaching to keep house for her father, who lived near Loch Ness, and pursue her writing. Her first book was "The Man in the Queue" (1929), published under the Gordon Daviot pseudonym, and it introduced the character of Inspector Grant, familiar now from the Tey novels. The author wrote chiefly under the signature of Gordon Daviot from 1929 to 1946, during which time her works included the play "Richard of Bordeaux" (1933), which ran for a year with John Gielgud in the lead part. The first of the Josephine Tey mysteries, "A Shilling for Candies, " was published in 1936 and was eventually followed by "Miss Pym Disposes" in 1947. Also included among the Tey mysteries are "The Franchise Affair" (1949), "Brat Farrar" (1949), "To Love and Be Wise" (1950), "The Daughter of Time" (1951), and "The Singing Sands" (1952). Elizabeth MacKintosh died in London on February 13, 1952.

Robert Barnard (1936-2013) was awarded the Malice Domestic Award for Lifetime Achievement and the Nero Wolfe Award, as well as the Agatha and Macavity awards. An eight-time Edgar nominee, he was a member of Britain's distinguished Detection Club, and, in May 2003, he received the Cartier Diamond Dagger Award for lifetime achievement in mystery writing. His most recent novel, Charitable Body", was published by Scribner in 2012.

Praise For To Love and Be Wise

San Francisco Chronicle

Nobody can beat Miss Tey at characterization or elegance of style; this novel's a beauty.

The Times Literary Supplement (London)

Worth reading for its ingenious denouement alone.