Brat Farrar

Brat Farrar Cover

Brat Farrar

By Josephine Tey

Touchstone Books, Paperback, 9780684803852, 288pp.

Publication Date: September 2, 1997

In this tale of mystery and suspense, a stranger enters the inner sanctum of the Ashby family posing as Patrick Ashby, the heir to the family's sizable fortune. The stranger, Brat Farrar, has been carefully coached on Patrick's mannerism's, appearance, and every significant detail of Patrick's early life, up to his thirteenth year when he disappeared and was thought to have drowned himself. It seems as if Brat is going to pull off this most incredible deception until old secrets emerge that jeopardize the imposter's plan and his life.

About the Author
Elizabeth MacKintosh used two pen names during her writing career: Josephine Tey, who was also her Suffolk great-great-grandmother, and Gordon Daviot. She was born in 1897 in Inverness, Scotland, where she attended the Royal Academy. Miss MacKintosh later trained for three years at the Anstey Physical Training College in Birmingham, then began her teaching career as a physical training instructor. She gave up teaching to keep house for her father, who lived near Loch Ness, and pursue her writing. Her first book was "The Man in the Queue" (1929), published under the Gordon Daviot pseudonym, and it introduced the character of Inspector Grant, familiar now from the Tey novels. The author wrote chiefly under the signature of Gordon Daviot from 1929 to 1946, during which time her works included the play "Richard of Bordeaux" (1933), which ran for a year with John Gielgud in the lead part. The first of the Josephine Tey mysteries, "A Shilling for Candies, " was published in 1936 and was eventually followed by "Miss Pym Disposes" in 1947. Also included among the Tey mysteries are "The Franchise Affair" (1949), "Brat Farrar" (1949), "To Love and Be Wise" (1950), "The Daughter of Time" (1951), and "The Singing Sands" (1952). Elizabeth MacKintosh died in London on February 13, 1952.