Trouble with Testosterone

Trouble with Testosterone Cover

Trouble with Testosterone

And Other Essays on the Biology of the Human Predicament

By Robert M. Sapolsky

Scribner Book Company, Paperback, 9780684838915, 288pp.

Publication Date: April 24, 1998

Description
Finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize
From the man who Oliver Sacks hailed as one of the best scientist/writers of our time, a collection of sharply observed, uproariously funny essays on the biology of human culture and behavior.
In the tradition of Stephen Jay Gould and Oliver Sacks, Robert Sapolsky offers a sparkling and erudite collection of essays about science, the world, and our relation to both. The Trouble with Testosterone explores the influence of that notorious hormone on male aggression. Curious George's Pharmacy reexamines recent exciting claims that wild primates know how to medicate themselves with forest plants. Junk Food Monkeys relates the adventures of a troop of baboons who stumble upon a tourist garbage dump. And Circling the Blanket for God examines the neurobiological roots underlying religious belief.
Drawing on his career as an evolutionary biologist and neurobiologist, Robert Sapolsky writes about the natural world vividly and insightfully. With candor, humor, and rich observations, these essays marry cutting-edge science with humanity, illuminating the interconnectedness of the world's inhabitants with skill and flair.

Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.