The Magician

By Michael Scott; Erik Singer (Read by)
(Listening Library, Compact Disc, 9780739364918)

Publication Date: June 24, 2008

List Price: $44.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description
Read the second book in the "New York Times" bestselling The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, perfect for fans of "The Maze Runner" and Percy Jackson and the Olympians.
After fleeing Ojai, Nicholas, Sophie, Josh, and Scatty emerge in Paris, the City of Lights. Home for Nicholas Flamel. Only this homecoming is anything but sweet. Perenell is still locked up back in Alcatraz and Paris is teeming with enemies. Nicollo Machiavelli, immortal author and celebrated art collector, is working for Dee. He''s after them, and time is running out for Nicholas and Perenell. For every day spent without the Book of Abraham the Mage, they age one year--their magic becoming weaker and their bodies more frail. For Flamel, the Prophesy is becoming more and more clear.
It's time for Sophie to learn the second elemental magic: Fire Magic. And there''s only one man who can teach it to her: Flamel's old student, the Comte de Saint-Germain--alchemist, magician, and rock star. Josh and Sophie Newman are the world's only hope--if they don't turn on each other first.
Praise for The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series: "
The Alchemyst"
STAR] " A] A riveting fantasy...While there is plenty here to send readers rushing to their encyclopedias...those who read the book at face value will simply be caught up in the enthralling story. A fabulous read."--"School Library Journal," Starred
"The Magician"
STAR] "Readers will be swept up by a plot that moves smartly along, leaving a wide trailer of destruction and well-timed revelations."--"Kirkus Reveiws," Starred
"The Sorceress"
"Master yarnspinner that he is, Scott expertly cranks up the suspense while keeping his now-large cast in quick motion....This page -turner promises plenty of action to come."--"Kirkus Reviews"
"The Necromancer"
"Unrelenting forward momentum....This book will thrill fans."--"School Library Journal"

"From the Hardcover edition.




About the Author
Michael Scott began writing over 25 years ago, and is one of Ireland's most successful authors, with over 100 titles to his credit. He writes for both adults and young adults and is published in 37 countries, and in 20 languages. He is considered one of the authorities on the folklore of the Celtic lands and is credited with the resurgence of interest in the subject in the mid-1980's. He is also an accomplished scriptwriter, and has written for the stage and screen, as well as scripted documentaries and drama for television.

Erik Singer's theatrical credits include the title role in "The Hostage, A Life in the Theatre, Greetings, Stones in His Pockets", national tours of "Othello" and "The Taming of the Shrew, Gross Indecency: The Three Trials of Oscar Wilde", and "The Tempest". TV credits include "All My Children" and "As the World Turns", and the A&E "Biography" as Vincent Van Gogh. Other audiobooks include "The Dogs of Babel", and "The Five People You Meet In Heaven".
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile