Quintana of Charyn

The Lumatere Chronicles

By Melina Marchetta
(Candlewick, Hardcover, 9780763658359, 528pp.)

Publication Date: April 23, 2013

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

The climactic conclusion of Printz Award winner Melina Marchetta’s epic fantasy trilogy!

Separated from the girl he loves and has sworn to protect, Froi and his companions travel through Charyn searching for Quintana and building an army that will secure her unborn child’s right to rule. While in the valley between two kingdoms, Quintana of Charyn and Isaboe of Lumatere come face-to-face in a showdown that will result in heartbreak for one and power for the other. The complex tangle of bloodlines, politics, and love introduced in Finnikin of the Rock and Froi of the Exiles coalesce into an engrossing climax in this final volume.




About the Author

Melina Marchetta is the acclaimed and award-winning author of Jellicoe Road, which won the Michael L. Printz Award; Saving Francesca and its companion novel, The Piper’s Son; Looking for Alibrandi; and the first two volumes in the Lumatere chronicles, Finnikin of the Rock and Froi of the Exiles. She lives in Australia.




Praise For Quintana of Charyn

Marchetta, known for her mastery of character, shows herself here to have conquered the intricacies of plot, worldbuilding and theme...Readers will have a hard time forgetting the complex, deeply human characters that populate this multifaceted narrative.
—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Marchetta triumphantly concludes the trilogy that began with Finnikin of the Rock, as the kingdoms of Lumatere and Charyn attempt to bridge past atrocities through a new generation of leaders...One of the hallmarks of this series has been the complexity and attention Marchetta gives to both primary and secondary characters, creating a richly human cast of damaged but noble individuals...Readers who have fallen in love with Quintana, Froi, Finnikin, Isaboe, and others will eagerly seek out what fate has in store for them.
—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

The plot is more straightforward, while the previous volumes’ excellent features—world-building, plotting, and characterization—continue to shine. Marchetta builds on the reader’s knowledge of this world, adding rich sensory details to enhance the sense of place...A stand-out fantasy series.
—Booklist (starred review)

[T]he book will mesmerize readers with several hair-raising moments that ratchet up tension; memorably detailed descriptions provide vivid images of the setting; and Marchetta’s themes of belonging and forgiveness are powerfully wrought. Fans of Megan Whelan Turner and Elizabeth Wein should find this exceptional series especially compelling.
—The Horn Book

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company
Landline
Rainbow Rowell
St. Martin's Press
New and Selected Poems
David Lehman
Scribner
Still Some Cake
James Cummins
Carnegie-Mellon University Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile