Quintana of Charyn

Quintana of Charyn Cover

Quintana of Charyn

By Melina Marchetta

Candlewick Press (MA), Hardcover, 9780763658359, 515pp.

Publication Date: April 23, 2013

Description
The climactic conclusion of Printz Award winner Melina Marchetta's epic fantasy trilogy
Separated from the girl he loves and has sworn to protect, Froi and his companions travel through Charyn searching for Quintana and building an army that will secure her unborn child's right to rule. While in the valley between two kingdoms, Quintana of Charyn and Isaboe of Lumatere come face-to-face in a showdown that will result in heartbreak for one and power for the other. The complex tangle of bloodlines, politics, and love introduced in "Finnikin of the Rock" and "Froi of the Exiles" coalesce into an engrossing climax in this final volume.


About the Author
Melina Marchetta is the acclaimed and award-winning author of "Jellicoe Road," which won the Michael L. Printz Award; "Saving Francesca" and its companion novel, "The Piper s Son";" Looking for Alibrandi"; and the first two volumes in the Lumatere chronicles, "Finnikin of the Rock" and "Froi of the Exiles." She lives in Australia."


Praise For Quintana of Charyn

Marchetta, known for her mastery of character, shows herself here to have conquered the intricacies of plot, worldbuilding and theme...Readers will have a hard time forgetting the complex, deeply human characters that populate this multifaceted narrative.
—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Marchetta triumphantly concludes the trilogy that began with Finnikin of the Rock, as the kingdoms of Lumatere and Charyn attempt to bridge past atrocities through a new generation of leaders...One of the hallmarks of this series has been the complexity and attention Marchetta gives to both primary and secondary characters, creating a richly human cast of damaged but noble individuals...Readers who have fallen in love with Quintana, Froi, Finnikin, Isaboe, and others will eagerly seek out what fate has in store for them.
—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

The plot is more straightforward, while the previous volumes’ excellent features—world-building, plotting, and characterization—continue to shine. Marchetta builds on the reader’s knowledge of this world, adding rich sensory details to enhance the sense of place...A stand-out fantasy series.
—Booklist (starred review)

[T]he book will mesmerize readers with several hair-raising moments that ratchet up tension; memorably detailed descriptions provide vivid images of the setting; and Marchetta’s themes of belonging and forgiveness are powerfully wrought. Fans of Megan Whelan Turner and Elizabeth Wein should find this exceptional series especially compelling.
—The Horn Book