Kalimpura

By Jay Lake
Tor Books, Hardcover, 9780765326775, 303pp.

Publication Date: January 29, 2013

List Price: $27.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.




Description

This sequel to Jay Lake's "Green "and "Endurance "takes Green back to the city of Kalimpura and the service of the Lily Goddess.


Green is hounded by the gods of Copper Downs and the gods of Kalimpura, who have laid claim to her and her children. She never wanted to be a conduit for the supernatural, but when she killed the Immortal Duke and created the Ox god with the power she released, she came to their notice.


Now she has sworn to retrieve the two girls taken hostage by the Bittern Court, one of Kalimpura's rival guilds. But the Temple of the Lily Goddess is playing politics with her life.




About the Author
Jay Lake is the author of the Mainspring and Green series from Tor, as well as several independent press novels and numerous short stories. In 2013, his steampunk novella, "The Stars Do Not Lie," was nominated for the Nebula, Hugo, and Locus awards. He lives and writes in Portland, Oregon.



Praise For Kalimpura

“Assassin and ex-courtesan Green has saved a city and birthed a god. Now she wants to move on—but she’s hunted by enemies from her past, the city council is mired in a power struggle and can’t provide much aid, and something is stalking goddesses, including the one Green serves. Lake deftly weaves complicated, stubborn characters into a plot that reaches the grandest and most personal scales without ever straining credulity…. This complex, lonesome, haunting novel will appeal to fans of Valente, Monette, and Miéville.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review on Endurance

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound