The Tropic of Serpents

The Tropic of Serpents

A Memoir by Lady Trent

By Marie Brennan

Tor Books, Hardcover, 9780765331977, 331pp.

Publication Date: March 4, 2014

Description

The thrilling adventure of Lady Trent continues in Marie Brennan's "Tropic of Serpents . . . "

Attentive readers of Lady Trent's earlier memoir, "A Natural History of Dragons, " are already familiar with how a bookish and determined young woman named Isabella first set out on the historic course that would one day lead her to becoming the world's premier dragon naturalist. Now, in this remarkably candid second volume, Lady Trent looks back at the next stage of her illustrious (and occasionally scandalous) career.

Three years after her fateful journeys through the forbidding mountains of Vystrana, Mrs. Camherst defies family and convention to embark on an expedition to the war-torn continent of Eriga, home of such exotic draconian species as the grass-dwelling snakes of the savannah, arboreal tree snakes, and, most elusive of all, the legendary swamp-wyrms of the tropics.

The expedition is not an easy one. Accompanied by both an old associate and a runaway heiress, Isabella must brave oppressive heat, merciless fevers, palace intrigues, gossip, and other hazards in order to satisfy her boundless fascination with all things draconian, even if it means venturing deep into the forbidden jungle known as the Green Hell . . . where her courage, resourcefulness, and scientific curiosity will be tested as never before.



About the Author
MARIE BRENNAN is an anthropologist and folklorist who shamelessly pillages her academic fields for material. She is the author of several acclaimed fantasy novels including "A Natural History of Dragons; "The Onyx Court Series: "Midnight Never Come, In Ashes Lie, A Star Shall Fall, "and "With Fate Conspire; Warrior; "and" Witch. "Her short stories have appeared in more than a dozen print and online publications.


Praise For The Tropic of Serpents

"This, the second of Isabella’s retrospective memoirs, is as uncompromisingly honest and forthright as the first, narrated in Brennan’s usual crisp, vivid style, with a heroine at once admirable, formidable and captivating. Reader, lose no time in making Isabella’s acquaintance."--Kirkus, starred review

For A Natural History of Dragons

“Saturated with the joy and urgency of discovery and scientific curiosity.”Publishers Weekly, starred review

“If you’ve ever secretly wished dragons were real, this story is for you. Fans of Naomi Novik and Mary Robinette Kowal will especially enjoy this book.” —RT Book Reviews

“Her Ladyship is a determined and canny woman in search of dragons—I wholeheartedly approve!”—Melanie Rawn, bestselling author of Touchstone, on A Natural History of Dragons