Oryx and Crake

By Margaret Atwood; Scott Campbell (Read by)
(Seal Books, Compact Disc, 9780770429522)

Publication Date: May 6, 2003

Other Editions of This Title: Hardcover, Paperback, Compact Disc, Mass Market Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

Seal Books is proud to release the audio version of Oryx and Crake, Margaret Atwood’s new novel that is being billed as her most terrifying and brave. Oryx and Crake is sure to be an instant bestseller and contemporary classic. Do not miss out on the audio version.

Oryx and Crake is an astonishing novel in the tradition of Huxley, Orwell, Bradbury, and her own The Handmaid’s Tale. It is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it.

With breathtaking command of her material and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects a conceivable future of the world, an outlandish yet wholly believable place left devastated in the wake of ecological and scientific disaster and populated by a cast of characters who will continue to inhabit dreams long after the book is closed.

This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For those who experience Oryx and Crake, nothing will ever look the same again.




About the Author

Margaret Atwood was born in Ottawa in 1939, and grew up in northern Quebec and Ontario, and later in Toronto. She has lived in numerous cities in Canada, the U.S., and Europe.

She is the author of more than forty books — novels, short stories, poetry, literary criticism, social history, and books for children. Atwood’s work is acclaimed internationally and has been published around the world. Her novels include The Handmaid’s Tale and Cat’s Eye — both shortlisted for the Booker Prize; The Robber Bride, winner of the Trillium Book Award and a finalist for the Governor General’s Award; Alias Grace, winner of the prestigious Giller Prize in Canada and the Premio Mondello in Italy, and a finalist for the Governor General’s Award, the Booker Prize, the Orange Prize, and the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award; The Blind Assassin, winner of the Booker Prize and a finalist for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award; and Oryx and Crake, a finalist for The Giller Prize, the Governor General’s Award, the Orange Prize, and the Man Booker Prize. Her most recent books of fiction are The Penelopiad, The Tent, and Moral Disorder. She is the recipient of numerous honours, such as The Sunday Times Award for Literary Excellence in the U.K., the National Arts Club Medal of Honor for Literature in the U.S., Le Chevalier dans l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres in France, and she was the first winner of the London Literary Prize. She has received honorary degrees from universities across Canada, and one from Oxford University in England.

Margaret Atwood lives in Toronto with novelist Graeme Gibson.




Praise For Oryx and Crake

“Rigorous in its chilling insights and riveting in its fast-paced ‘what if’ dramatization, Atwood’s superb novel is as brilliantly provocative as it is profoundly engaging.” -- Booklist (starred review)

“A landmark work of speculative fiction, comparable to A Clockwork Orange, Brave New World.… Atwood has surpassed herself.” -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“[Oryx and Crake is written] with a style and grace that demonstrate again just how masterful a storyteller she is. If one measure of art’s power is its ability to force you to face what you would very much rather not, Oryx and Crake -- the evocative tale of a nightmarish near-future -- is an extraordinary work of art, one that reaffirms Atwood’s place at the apex of Canadian literature.” -- Maclean’s

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

Lucky Us
Amy Bloom
Random House
Good Poems, American Places
Garrison Keillor
Penguin Books
The Paleo Kitchen
Juli Bauer; George Bryant
Victory Belt Publishing
The Great Glass Sea
Josh Weil
Grove Press

Make Your Own Wishlist

FIND US ON:
IndieBound on Twitter IndieBound on Facebook







Update Profile