Impossible

By Nancy Werlin
(Dial Books, Hardcover, 9780803730021, 376pp.)

Publication Date: September 18, 2008

List Price: $17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the Fall 2008 Kids' List
“This lyrical novel, inspired by the ballad 'Scarborough Fair,' tells of an unbreakable curse passed from mother to daughter over generations. A story of family and hope, it conjures indelible images as it spins a tale of love conquering all else, and the impossible made possible.”
-- Beth Simpson, Cornerstone Books, Salem, MA


Description
For fans of "Beautiful Creatures" and "Wicked Lovely" comes this "New York Times" Bestselling modern fairy tale from National Book Award Finalist Nancy Werlin.
Inspired by the classic folk ballad "Scarborough Fair," this wonderfully riveting novel is rife with suspense, romance, and fantasy. Seventeen-year-old Lucy discovers that she is the latest recipient of a generations-old Elvin curse that requires women in her family to complete three impossible tasks or risk falling into madness and passing the curse on to the next generation. Unlike her ancestors, Lucy has the support of her fiercely protective adoptive parents, and her best friend Zach, whose friendship may be turning into something more. But do they have enough love and resolve to conquer this age-old evil?
The Scarborough Girls' story continues in "Unthinkable" and the companion novel "Extraordinary."

"Teens, especially young women, will enjoy this romantic fairy tale with modern trappings."--"School Library Journal" (starred review)
"Showcases the author's finesse at melding genres with its] graceful interplay between wild magic and contemporary reality and its] catapulting suspense."--"Booklist" (starred review)
"The melding of magic and practicality produces a lovely whole."--"Kirkus" (starred review)




About the Author
NANCY WERLIN was born in Massachusetts, where she still lives. In writing for teenagers, she always strives to combine the emotional intensity of a coming-of-age story with the page-turning tension of a suspense thriller. Nancy s books have won numerous awards and accolades, including the Edgar award for The Killer s Cousin, which was also named one of the 100 Best of the Best for the 21st Century by the American Library Association. Her most recent book, The Rules of Survival, was a National Book Award Finalist. Visit her web site at www.nancywerlin.com
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile