Impossible

By Nancy Werlin
(Dial, Hardcover, 9780803730021, 384pp.)

Publication Date: September 18, 2008

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the Fall 2008 Kids' List
“This lyrical novel, inspired by the ballad 'Scarborough Fair,' tells of an unbreakable curse passed from mother to daughter over generations. A story of family and hope, it conjures indelible images as it spins a tale of love conquering all else, and the impossible made possible.”
-- Beth Simpson, Cornerstone Books, Salem, MA


Description

For fans of Beautiful Creatures and Wicked Lovely comes this New York Times Bestselling modern fairy tale from National Book Award Finalist Nancy Werlin.

Inspired by the classic folk ballad “Scarborough Fair,” this wonderfully riveting novel is rife with suspense, romance, and fantasy. Seventeen-year-old Lucy discovers that she is the latest recipient of a generations-old Elvin curse that requires women in her family to complete three impossible tasks or risk falling into madness and passing the curse on to the next generation. Unlike her ancestors, Lucy has the support of her fiercely protective adoptive parents, and her best friend Zach, whose friendship may be turning into something more. But do they have enough love and resolve to conquer this age-old evil?
 
The Scarborough Girls’ story continues in Unthinkable and the companion novel Extraordinary.
 
 
“Teens, especially young women, will enjoy this romantic fairy tale with modern trappings.”—School Library Journal (starred review)
 
“Showcases the author’s finesse at melding genres [with its] graceful interplay between wild magic and contemporary reality [and its] catapulting suspense.”—Booklist (starred review)
 
“The melding of magic and practicality produces a lovely whole.”—Kirkus (starred review)

 

 




About the Author

Nancy Werlin has written eight previous acclaimed novels, including National Book Award Finalist The Rules of Survival and Edgar Award Winner The Killer’s Cousin. She and her husband live near Boston, Massachusetts.

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company
Landline
Rainbow Rowell
St. Martin's Press
New and Selected Poems
David Lehman
Scribner
Still Some Cake
James Cummins
Carnegie-Mellon University Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile