AN Orange in January

By Dianna Hutts Aston; Julie Maren (Illustrator)
(Dial, Hardcover, 9780803731462, 32pp.)

Publication Date: October 18, 2007

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

Plump, juicy oranges are one of the great pleasures of winter?and one that is usually taken for granted. Now here?s an eloquent, celebratory picture of how those oranges have found their way to the grocery store shelves, and then into kids? tummies! With vivid, glowing paintings, this unique picture book offers a poetic lesson about a plant?s growth cycle and about the produce industry. We follow an orange from blossom to ripe fruit, from tree to truck to market . . . and into the hands of a boy who shares this treat with his friends on the playground, ?so that everyone could taste the sweetness of an orange in January.?

In the tradition of Apple Farmer Annie and Red Leaf, Yellow Leaf, this is a satisfying, celebratory look at an everyday object with a remarkable life story.




About the Author

Dianna Hutts Aston divides her time between San Miguel de Allendes, Mexico, and central Texas.

Julie Maren lives in Boulder, Colorado.

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

Confessions of a Self-Help Writer
Benjamin Dehaven
Lagniappe Publishing
Annihilation
Jeff VanderMeer
FSG Originals
The Martian
Andy Weir
Crown
Benediction
Kent Haruf
Vintage

Make Your Own Wishlist








More than 150 writers from 40 events will gather in New York City for PEN World Voices Festival of International Literature, April 28 – May 4, 2014.

For its 10th anniversary, the festival celebrates those who have dared to stand β€˜on the edge,’ risking their careers, and sometimes their lives, to speak out for their art and beliefs. Join us for a wide range of events, including debates, one-on-one conversations, participatory workshops and performances in venues throughout the city. Use the code PEN14 and receive a 20 percent discount on most events. www.worldvoicesfestival.org

Update Profile