An Orange in January

An Orange in January

By Dianna Hutts Aston; Julie Maren (Illustrator)

Dial Books, Hardcover, 9780803731462, 32pp.

Publication Date: October 18, 2007

Plump, juicy oranges are one of the great pleasures of winter?and one that is usually taken for granted. Now here's an eloquent, celebratory picture of how those oranges have found their way to the grocery store shelves, and then into kids? tummies With vivid, glowing paintings, this unique picture book offers a poetic lesson about a plant's growth cycle and about the produce industry. We follow an orange from blossom to ripe fruit, from tree to truck to market . . . and into the hands of a boy who shares this treat with his friends on the playground, ?so that everyone could taste the sweetness of an orange in January.?

In the tradition of "Apple Farmer Annie" and "Red Leaf, Yellow Leaf, " this is a satisfying, celebratory look at an everyday object with a remarkable life story.

About the Author
Dianna Hutts Aston is the author of many books for children and is the founder of the Oz Project, a nonprofit foundation for disadvantaged children. She lives on an island off the coast of Texas.