The Symptoms of My Insanity

By Mindy Raf
(Dial, Hardcover, 9780803732414, 384pp.)

Publication Date: April 18, 2013

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

For fans of Louise Rennison, Sarah Mlynowski, and Stephanie Perkins comes a laugh-out-loud, bittersweet debut full of wit, wisdom, heart, and a hilarious, unforgettable heroine.

It's kind of crazy how you can pay so much attention to yourself and still not see a thing.

Izzy is a hypochondriac with enormous boobs that won't stop growing, a mother with a rare disease who's hiding something, a best friend who appears to have undergone a personality transplant, and a date with an out-of-her-league athlete who just spilled Gatorade all over her. Yes, Izzy Skymen has a hectic life. But what Izzy doesn't realize is that these are only minor symptoms of life's insanity. When she discovers that the people she trusts most are withholding from her the biggest secrets, things are about to get epic -- or is it epidemic?




About the Author

Mindy Raf is a writer, comedy performer, and musician based in Brooklyn, New York. She is a graduate of the University of Michigan, and grew up in a suburb of Detroit right around here (visualize the bottom of your left thumb). Mindy has written for CollegeHumor, VH1, TNT, The Daily Comedy Network, and was a contributor to the My Parents Were Awesome anthology. She continues to perform stand-up and music across the country. Visit her at www.mindyraf.com.




Praise For The Symptoms of My Insanity

"Light and funny yet grounded in the often painful sensibilities of teenagers. . . . A touching look at the confusion bred in the alliances of teens as they find their way in the world."
-VOYA

"What could be tragic events for Izzy are tempered by her self-deprecating humor, plenty of female support and a chance for real romance....A female Woody Allen for the teenage set."
-Kirkus Reviews

"Hilarious . . . It's a generous book, overstocked with characters and dialogue, and it should succeed in putting any reader's problem into a wider, and funnier, perspective."
-Booklist

"Lovably neurotic . . . A refreshing upheaval of mean-girl stereotypes."
-Publishers Weekly

"Raf's background in comedy serves her well and gives her protagonist an authenticity that will make readers feel invested in her story."
-School Library Journal

"All of the women in this character-driven book are forces of nature . . . Pitch-perfect."
-BCCB

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

We Were Liars
E. Lockhart
Delacorte Press
Americanah
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Anchor
The Bees
Laline Paull
Ecco Press
All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile