Spellbound

The Books of Elsewhere: Volume 2

By Jacqueline West
(Dial, Hardcover, 9780803734418, 304pp.)

Publication Date: July 12, 2011

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback, Hardcover

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

The mysteries grow deeper and the secrets darker in the second volume of the New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series.

With no way into the McMartin house's magical paintings and its three guardian cats reluctant to help, Olive's friend Morton is still trapped inside Elsewhere. So when Rutherford, the new oddball kid next door mentions a grimoire—a spellbook—Olive sees a glint of hope. If she can find the McMartins' spellbook, maybe she can help Morton escape Elsewhere for good. Unless, that is, the book finds Olive first.

The house isn't the only one keeping secrets anymore. You'll never guess what happens next in this thrilling, chilling fantasy series, perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.




About the Author

A two-time Pushcart nominee for poetry, Jacqueline West lives in Chilton, Wisconsin. This is her first novel.




Praise For Spellbound

“Middle grade writing as it should be.”
-Minneapolis Star Tribune

“A suspenseful read that leaves plenty of room for the next title in the series.”
-School Library Journal

“A delightful tale filled with magic, adventure, danger and . . . [the] challenges of growing up.”
-MonstersandCritics.com

“As Harry Potter fever takes over . . .The Books of Elsewhere is a great series for young readers who are interested in the world of spells, witches, potions and magic—plenty of fun, action and thrills.”
-Examiner.com

The Books of Elsewhere just blew me away.”
-New Richmond News

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

Lucky Us
Amy Bloom
Random House
Good Poems, American Places
Garrison Keillor
Penguin Books
The Paleo Kitchen
Juli Bauer; George Bryant
Victory Belt Publishing
The Great Glass Sea
Josh Weil
Grove Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile