Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

Spellbound

Spellbound Cover

Spellbound

The Books of Elsewhere: Volume 2

By Jacqueline West

Dial Books, Hardcover, 9780803734418, 304pp.

Publication Date: July 12, 2011

Advertisement
Description
The mysteries grow deeper and the secrets darker in the second volume of the New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series.
With no way into the McMartin house's magical paintings and its three guardian cats reluctant to help, Olive's friend Morton is still trapped inside Elsewhere. So when Rutherford, the new oddball kid next door mentions a grimoire a spellbook Olive sees a glint of hope. If she can find the McMartins' spellbook, maybe she can help Morton escape Elsewhere for good. Unless, that is, the book finds Olive first.
The house isn't the only one keeping secrets anymore. You'll never guess what happens next in this thrilling, chilling fantasy series, perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.


About the Author
A two-time Pushcart nominee for poetry, Jacqueline West lives in Chilton, Wisconsin. This is her first novel.


Praise For Spellbound

“Middle grade writing as it should be.”
-Minneapolis Star Tribune

“A suspenseful read that leaves plenty of room for the next title in the series.”
-School Library Journal

“A delightful tale filled with magic, adventure, danger and . . . [the] challenges of growing up.”
-MonstersandCritics.com

“As Harry Potter fever takes over . . .The Books of Elsewhere is a great series for young readers who are interested in the world of spells, witches, potions and magic—plenty of fun, action and thrills.”
-Examiner.com

The Books of Elsewhere just blew me away.”
-New Richmond News

Advertisement